I only went down to check the trough in the paddock!

in #life7 years ago

The previous day, my neighbour had put his cows into one of our paddocks to graze.  Naughty girls knocked the hose off the trough, and when I noticed it, there was a river running through the paddock keeping the cows entertained.  As this is coming straight from our own tanks, which were by now, getting very low, I rushed down to fix it.  

The next day, after work, I thought I'd better check on it .  Taking my camera with me as its only 50 meters or so from the house, I thought I might just see what I might catch sight of while attending to the trough.  (Trough is by the gate in the paddock)

All is peaceful and calm.  The girls are happy munching away on the grass. As you can see, they are in the distance, miles away from where I am 

 
Trough is all good, no more leaks.   When I turn around, it seems I have an audience !!!  I think cows get so BORED, anything going on in their little world warrants attention.  Today it was me! None of these shots are close ups. They really DO come in that close, usually trying to lick me. 




Half are missing.....they must be somewhere else? While I'm telling the "girls" how good they are being, the horse across the lane comes to check out the speech.  (Also bored) 


Then I hear a familiar howling.....here comes one of my cats.  His name is Mental...and he is...mental!!  he's not afraid of horses or cows, and loves to walk through the paddocks with me.  

Isn't it funny how animals get their names sometimes? Here's how this cat got his. He was from a rental cottage just down the lane, where he was mistreated and starved. 

He appeared at our place as a young cat, (I fed him up) where-upon it was 

"Oh, I think that cat's from the Rental" to just plain… 

"Here comes Rental" which one day led to…..  

(after doing crazy stuff))….. 

"Oh, you’re so Mental Rental" which just got abbreviated to…. 

"Here's Mental" 

He came for a visit one day and didn't go back :)

Good grief...here comes a Heron, good grief again...here's its mate !!! Now I have 20 cows, one cat and two herons in the paddock, and a horse looking on. 




Time to investigate the old pine trees for dropped cones.  Lots of lovely cones and firewood to collect.   


 

Oh, there’s the rest of the herd, lining up for a look at what I'm up to.    

Lots of MOOOOing going on about now, as both sides find each other.


 View across one of the paddocks, looking South.    

 


Up and out of the paddock, I come round the side of the house to find our resident (one of two) Pheasants taking shelter under some wood...trying to blend in!!

Living in NZ you sort of get used to saying…” Hey, was that an earthquake?” Well if you are in any doubt, Pheasants will let you know, they call out at the slightest shake or presence of danger(cat). That’s when you realise just how many are around!! 



And just to top it off, these dear wee Silver eye's or Wax eyes come flitting round. Because its winter time, I like to put out on my bird feeding tray, a block of lard, the birds go crazy for it. 



 All that in 30 minutes !

 There is always something going on if you but take the time to tread quietly, stop and look. Hope you enjoyed a little trip to the paddock. 

Sort:  

Love the rolling hills in the backdrop. Truly the good life!

Exceptionly blessed. Thank you for your kind comment

You live in such a beautiful place! What a wonderful thing to experience (:

Yes I am very blessed. Thank you for your lovely comment. Anywhere outside, to me, is great, so long as I can see sky. Have a great day

SO great to see and read this post such a beautiful farm brings back very good memories of an Uncles farm we visited most holidays when I was young

Thats so cool !! So happy this bought good memories. Thank you for taking the time to tell me

WOW WHAT A TRIP! That seems like a really special trip that would have my heart pounding with looooove. AWe. Thank you for sharing!

Ohh thank you so much, what a great comment :) every time I go for a wander there's always something to see and usually a cat following.

I hope you share more pasture adventures! I love it!

Sometimes a few of my chickens follow me around, but that's about it. Haha

Chickens are hard case...always looking for food :) Thank you for the great comment. I will post more, if it doesn't bore anyone !! haha Am off to checkout your Blog and follow

I won't be bored, that's for sure!! One of my favorite feel good stories as of late!! :) <3

All good stuff ! I love the farm life.. I always though it was so strange how cows will just stand there looking at you. I think it is because they don't trust us.

Oh, thank you for commenting and the vote, your'e the best

You are always very welcome!

and they'd be right !!! not with me though...I love them :)

Beautiful pics. Followed you from the THL group!

Oh wow, thank you so much for the "follow" and the kind comment. Following you

This post has received a 1.88 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @silvernova.

Thanks so much booster, @silvernova your support means the world to me, thank you so much, you are very generous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55