The Aftershock

in #life6 years ago (edited)

theaftershock.jpg

It had been about two months since I felt the ground was trembling. For some reason, I am still feeling, even dreaming about it. I tried and tried to tell myself that nothing is happening. I even have a daily mantra, “ I am currently living in a safe place”.

Upon returning to my flat, I often ask my housemate if there is an earthquake or whether they feel it like I do. Sometimes, I rise up abruptly from my chair because I feel there’s an earthquake. Yet, I see my housemates leisurely passing by my room as if nothing is happening.

I was also compulsively checking the earthquake report only to convince myself that there’s no earthquake. Sometimes I am seeing objects in my room as if they were moving. I don’t know, I can’t sleep properly with the earthquake situation haunting me.

Then, it worsen when I read about the tsunami that happened just a while back. From that moment, every night, I keep dreaming about earthquake. In my dreams, I was always learning how to survive during that situation. Sometimes it was too vivid that I woke up thinking there was an earthquake.

Sometimes I assure myself with prepping. It seems to be one of the ways that helps me through my feeling. I also think several plans just in case anything happen. I even wonder if it’s safe to store my data digitally. I am quite skeptical but hey, maybe it’s one of the ways.

I think people in the major affected area experience worse situation than I do. They might not be able to shake the feeling even months. Perhaps, they might be haunted of it too, like I experienced. I only wish they will get a proper psychological treatment besides their daily needs.


Now, I have stopped checking the news especially when it’s related to natural disaster. I stopped checking the earthquake website and also keep telling myself to prepare for any kind of situation. It doesn’t matter whether it’s natural disaster or other things.

Sort:  

I'm sure I don't need to tell you this but I will do it anyway:

Things become bigger and stronger when you focus on them more ( whether they are positive or negative )
Easier said then done, try to focus on things that make you feel good as much as possible and
'shake' the feeling of those things that aren't helping you.

A hug from Portugal,

Vincent

I think so! As of now, I don't even remember or care about it :D

if it happens, it happens. At least I know how to protect myself

True that and let's hope it won't happen :>)

P.S. Have you ever heard of the movie Tremors? ( and it's sequels )
Google it and you will have a laugh.

NOOOO ... now I'll have to check it out though I am not a movie buff :D

You could also choose to follow my project instead, haha! ;>)

It’s a natural sensitivity macchi, after the 2011 earthquake I could feel the smallest aftershock and even after leaving Japan, and moving to Switzerland I could discern small earthquakes, together with other Japanese. Others don’t notice them. I suppose the body turns on the “ground moving” alert after huge disasters like that and never quite switches it off.

How did you cope up with that? it's been troubling me for days!

I suggest more physical activity, so that your brain floods with positive tremors. This reaction is quite common, it will wear off with the time. luckily you didn't develop some post stress rage attacks, then your house would shake. Very much...

~ #steemrepair


This account curates for the @steemrepair and pulls two trails. You've been upvoted for your quality contributions to the Steemit community. To join this initiative follow Steemauto curation trail. Use tag #steemrepair to qualify for a possible reward upvote.

Hi! We are @steem-ua. We upvoted you! Why? Because we noticed that you published some pretty cool posts, such as this one!
We like to support you, to help you grow on Steem. Would you like to know more about how things work on Steem(it)? Then feel free to join our steem-ua Discord Server.
Once you have joined our steem-ua Discord Server, please talk to people you see in there that have the UA Scout role. Tell them you have just joined, and like some help on how to make it big on Steemit. And they will help you!
Good luck!
Kind regards, @steem-ua
PS: Discord is a Chat Server Program, you can sign up there for free, and meet and talk to a lot of people on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54