Minimalism Screenless Weekend

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I joked to a friend about how if there was modern day Pompeii and the society was frozen at the moment we were buried. Then, years later, historian and scientist would found a body of presumably a young female holding a strange device during her sleep. The scientist and historian were examining on how strange she holds on to the little thing. They were assuming it was one of the oldest generation of smart communication. Then, they began to understand that the ancient society was having a problem with screen addiction.

Minimalism-Screenless.jpg

Nature is full of mystery and we can only hope that there won't be modern day Pompeii. Anyhow, scenario above might happen, given I live nearby an active volcano mountain.

So, what is the relation between that imagination and screenless habit?

Nothing. It was only an illustration of how we have a screen addiction. When did the last time we let go of our phone or our personal computer? I bet majority of us at least touch it more than 5 times a day. We spent hours and hours into it than doing other tasks.

I get it, these days everything happens on the screen. However, it seems that we forget, there is a life beyond the screen. For many young people like myself, living on the screen might be the common norm. We go outside not to enjoy the nature but only to take pictures and share it on the screen. We show the best version of ourselves only for the screen. We understand this problem, we tried to quit yet often we're feeling so out of touch. It is a strange feeling to live off the grid as a young person.

Back in the day, I recalled I had more time to invest in reading a paper book. These days, my attention span is decreasing. I no longer can read pages of books without wanting to check on my phone. Sometimes, there's actually nothing on my phone. It's often only enraging news about how bad the world and the governments are. These seemingly mundane things can actually affect our mind and our interaction with the environment.

No wonder more people are relying on pills, upset, raged, and growing distrust among each other. Having to experience all situation and emotions above, I decided to limit my screen consumption on the weekend. To cut back everything suddenly, might be very challenging. So, I propose a gradual step. 3 hours a day during the weekend. I hope this will have a ripple effect. That I finally forget my phone or my personal computer entirely especially during the weekend. I just don't to be found years later, holding on to phone and becoming the fascination among historian and scientist due my addiction.

It is also part of minimalism and simple living I am trying to practice again. It's been sometimes since everything in my personal life are out of sync. I realized everything is chaotic without the lifestyle that I used to have and practice.

Are you willing to give up 3 hours during the weekend to get off the internet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97