Community Service Series - Pre-Service, Steemfest and Sh*t I learned

in #life5 years ago

Today is the first day of my pre-community service. As a background, this community service is a compulsory class in my university. It is a class which the students are expected to live in with a family located in remote villages or island. The aim of the activity are to spread knowledge and giving back to the community while teaching students how to be in touch with people. It is assumed that we (me and other students) don't know how to mingle with people. Since we're " expected", " hoped", " wished" to be leader of the country, law makers, innovators, thinkers, this was seen as a necessity.

The span of service is about 7 weeks and the location will be some in remote village or island. For me, I am going to be deployed 30 km from where I currently live. The choosing of location was based on student's interest. I specifically do not pick any remote island as I was considering of the expenses and my current health. Not to mention, even before steemfest 4 location was announced, I already had a plan to attend it. However with community service going on it seems to be slightly a road block. But I am sure, I'll get there, to steemfest 4.

When the location was announced, I was ecstatic. It was nearby and the expenses estimation would only be less than 200$/7 weeks, I hope. However, I am not feeling really good about it since I could use the money for a better activity to do, like steemfest! But again, if I don't do this community service, then I wouldn't graduate.

Anyway, I also think that this community service is no different than my previous live in experiences. However, since I was expected to work, I feel slightly burdened. I will be dealing with many people; strangers I've not known earlier and it's a challenge. Even though I am generally a pleasant individual, I have quirks that might not be tolerable. I am pretty sure we all do but I am just going to watch out my prescriptions very carefully. Otherwise, I will be a mistuning synthesizer. Anyhow, I won't go far explaining on that today. Let's save that for later, shall we?

Me trying to clean up brown dead leaves and attempting to look aesthetic.

So today as mentioned, the activity was doing a university clean up. Students coming from different majors were cleaning up the university area based on their assigned block. For me, I was given a task to clean just in front of my own faculty. My faculty is very clean so there wasn't much to sweep and to clean. On a positive note, the activity was also a good exercise.

For a reason, that kind of activity reminded me that if I want to be successful, I gotta be willing to put on the "dirty" work. The simple thing like following orders, mundane basic activities even spending a certain amount of time to perform a task; these things might be helping me in my desperate attempt of getting a job. I was never into being a corporate cog, working 9-5 religiously but it seems to be the foreseeable event. That's all for this first post on community service series.

I am more than happy to share my community service updates and activities. So, follow me in this 7 weeks journey of it and my roadtosteemfest.

[macchiata].

Sort:  

That's an interesting immersion class, I hope it will not hinder you from going to the Steemfest. I'm looking forward to seeing you there :)

And you're right, to be successful one must be willing to the small things diligently. It all starts there. 😀

Haha it is though most students are against that class. It's such a chore even for me. Anyway, I am looking forward to see you there, god willing!

Corporate cog life starts there :-p

Soo you're definitely going? Fuuuuck I'm 50/50 and can't really decide...always wanted to see bangkok but if Im going there, I'd love to explore rather than do the steemfest to be honest...soo Im not sure now if I won't feel Im wasting time sitting in the events and presentations etc etc...also flights are pretty expensive..

I am ready to pack my bags and go... except, still saving for the flights and looking for cheaper options to do it! - probably gonna do malaysia-thailand (a layover and a chance to meet a friend). I don't mind sitting listening to presentation and events, that would be a new experience for me :-) I've never really been into tech seminars. Besides that would challenge my introverted side.

I really wish you can go! if you're not busy, why not spare a few weeks in Bangkok even exploring Thailand ?

Which country is this ? And what exactly are you expected to do there ?

Students are expected to create projects depending on the theme and the location. For instance, I got a project under " Technology" and I will be deployed in a coastal area with agriculture being its strong commodity.

My team consisting of 29 students, will be working on mini project relating to the theme, using our own different field of expertise. As I come from literature and language major, one of my mini project is a seminar on fake news and ways to tackle misinformation. Another one is helping local goverment with data visualization as in creating zines, village magazines and media related activities. Then, Some students from agriculture will help local farmers in using agriculture softwares, others from engineering will help in creating website for local government and helping them with processing database.

And I live in Indonesia. It's not really common in other universities. It's only a compulsory in mine because it has been done for decades, starting at around 1948 :) and as the oldest university in the country, they feel the need to give back to the community, a.k.a the country.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @ayasha-art.

Thank you for the cake! @ayasha-art

You got a 4.49% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macchiata! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57800.38
ETH 3127.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40