An Honest Reflection of Living On The Road

in #life6 years ago

Six months on the road, I was actually fulfilling my high school dream becoming a digital nomad. Initially, I was drawn to the lifestyle because I enjoy traveling. I thought it was a fun idea to combine working and having no permanent residency. Little did I know, I was being tested.

I admit, it is fun to be working from anywhere. I was sold to the dream of working from the beach. I did, I worked from the beach. It was not as glamorous as it looks, especially struggling with the internet connection and distractions.

I admit, it broadens my horizon. I met amazing people who open doors of opportunities and helped me during my stay in each places I visited. I also learned a lot about self-management and consistency. If you want to travel and work, those are the things you strongly need.

That was not weekend on the beach. My friend and I visited this place while trying to scrap website and write articles. It was a struggle to get things done. People pass by, internet was a pain and we ended up not getting things done. We did it for the "gram".

Then, There comes a time when you managed to get adjusted with the new place but you have to move again. It doesn't necessarily to be like this but my case was that. I was constantly moving because I was addicted to the idea of working anywhere.

There were couple of mishaps on the road. It's something less talked about but necessary. From renting a property, a transportation, withdrawing money, dealing with locals who don't speak English or the language I understand. Those were minor challenges from outside force.

And more from within. It's like, if you are not emotionally stable, no matter where you go, traveling will not fix it.

Nonetheless, In the end, I feel accomplished and more confident. I think, being very mobile at early age is necessary. It will broaden our insights of what could have been to be working remotely vs in an office. Now, I decided to go back to school. I feel the need to go back to school, in order to let go of the baggage. As soon as I graduate, I envision to have more time to be exploring my domain of interests and pursuing something I truly wanted.

I originally draft this on my personal twitter account. I was reflecting on things I did for the past six months. Right now, I am back to where I first started. I am still trying to adjust one more time with my new environment where I will be staying longer, possibly for another two year.

Cheers,
Macchiata.

Sort:  

...if you are not emotionally stable, no matter where you go, traveling will not fix it.

True that but it can definitely be a better thing to do than to stay ( stuck ). I always feel that humans aren't made to stay in one place all of their live. We aren't plants, after all. We aren't necessarily made to move a lot either. That just makes us stressed and fearful. As if we're escaping enemies on a daily basis.

No matter how you feel and how tough it must have been at times ( believe me, I can identify with you ), no one can take this experience/ baggage away from you.

Hugs from Portugal,

Vincent

😊 exactly! we are mobile beings but balance is always the key. I apologize for the lack of me responding to your comments lately. I was struggling getting a decent internet connection, now that I am back in a permanent zip code, I have more time to be reading and catching up to conversation either on or off steemit.

I'll be seeing you more often, Have a great day!👋

You have a lot of experience. That will be useful when you back to school. You have spent your early age with positive energy. Keep going on to reach your dream

Posted using Partiko Android

@happyphoenix thank you for the positive vibe! 🙏
Definitely the skill set I have will be useful for the long run.

Have a great day!

Wooah It's good to hear you have fulfilled your dream! Good luck further!

🙏 The next phase awaits! bringing my experiences for the next Q2-4 this year. Good luck to you as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75