🎧 Being the DJ at a Wedding... What's it like?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The DJ, The Disc Jockey... Anyone can do it, right?



I mean hey, it's just playing music isn't it, I do that all the time!


🎧



There is a lot more to it than you might think!




Ride along with me as I take you through my day as the DJ of a casual beautiful summer wedding!


1.jpg




It was a gorgeous sunny day...




After spending time meeting with the bride and groom a few times, talking on the phone, etc... I had planned out a fun day for our happy couple. I prepared all of the music ahead of time (no youtubing or streeming, I buy all of my music). There are many other small tasks to prep as well, such as charging LED lighting, updating computers, checking equipment, etc.


Once I was fully prepared, I loaded up the vehicle and ventured out to the Wedding.


It was a nice day in potato country!3.jpg


Once I arrived at the venue, I began to unload all of the equipment needed for the day.


Here is a short list:


Speakers, Subwoofer, Wiring for all
LED Lighting for Uplighting and also for Dance lighting
Wiring to control DMX features of the lighting
Speaker Stands, Microphone Stands
A table with banquet skirting set
Microphones, both corded and wireless
Battery powered PA system for outdoor ceremony
Computers for controlling DJ software and holding documents needed
Various other accessories such as headphones, batteries, cords, etc


I ran into an old friend / boss of mine who was the caterer at the event. I used to work with him to doing catering back in the day. It was nice to see him and the old crew, and I knew the food would be great!


I began to haul everything into the venue...


This is my trusty Dolly... its seen better days but it has been to every DJ event I have ever done!


d.jpg


I began the job of setting up...




Lots of bags and cases!




s.jpg


ss.jpg




So here is what I started with...


fsagewg.jpg




Lots and lots of wires!




w.jpg




All set up and ready to go!


done.jpg


We then had to venture outside... because the Ceremony was being held outdoors.




It was an amazing day for a wedding outside. The only issue we ran into was it was also pretty windy. I was worried about the microphones sounding bad, or worse, something blowing over. We managed to get a bit of a break, and it turned out to be gorgeous...




Using the battery powered PA system for music and microphones... Super handy!
out.jpg




They had a nice turnout, a good crowd, very friendly people!
out2.jpg




Then it was inside.. for Dinner, Cake, & Dancing!




After we got through all of the formalities, such as a Grand Entrance, First Dance, Toasts, Dinner, Cake, Bouquet Toss, Garter Removal, Father/Daughter Dance, Mother/Son Dance... We opened up the dance floor to everyone!

dance1.jpg




dance.jpg




People as young as little babies, all the way up to much older folks, danced the night away and had a great time. The bride and groom enjoyed themselves, and overall it was a wonderful and successful wedding.




Then of course for me, it was doing everything you read at the beginning, but in reverse order! Tear it all down, pack it all up, and load it all in the vehicle. It takes me about 90 mins to setup, but only about 45 to tear down.


I love being able to spend the day with people on thier wedding day, and hopefully be a part of it's success. I am grateful God has put me in the lives of so many people enterting the world of marriage.


Well, Now you know what happens behind the scenes a bit more at a wedding!






If you enjoyed this blog, Please Resteem it,
Upvote it, Leave a Comment, and Follow!


@ma1neevent


Sort:  

Thank you, I enjoyed this. But it looked super casual, shorts to a wedding?!

Haha yes it was a bit casual, as you can see it was outside and they did a BBQ also, so many people were outdoors for most of the event. We live in a rural community :-)

That's a well chronicled tale of DJing that you just did here. For the life of me, I only think of the job as super easy and fun to do. What could be so hard as playing a song? Lol. Thanks for sharing.

It is still super fun even if it is a lot of work sometimes. It is rewarding when at the end of the night you get lots of thank yous from the family. Thanks for viewing, feel free to resteem!

Awesome. It brings joy to people. Imagine a party with no music.

That's some flat land! I live in the mountains so it's rare to be able to see so far in the distance. Beautiful though. Sounds like you had a cool job as DJ. By playing music you helped to make the party fun and a success.

yes I am thankful to live in a rural farming community surrounded by forests. It's quite beautiful. Thank you for viewing!

it's nice to read your experience, glad everything went great!

yes thank you, it couldn't have been a nicer day for a wedding! Thanks for viewing! #ocd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66697.56
ETH 3490.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17