Rock Balancing

in #life5 years ago


Baltic Sea, Liepupe, Latvia

One more, one more! It is more than enough. Oh, come on one more! Greedy. Look I did… it! Aww! Told you. Back to rock one!

Being off-balance sucks. Scattered all over the place. How do you make all the pieces fit together? Do you need all of them? Reevaluate. Identify the sources of frustration. There is a great disturbance in the Force. Yes, Master! Search your feelings. Oh, come on! How is that going to help? Sometimes they are valid, sometimes not so much. However, to find the source you got to do the deep dive and sort them out. What a better way to do just that than grabbing the sunscreen? What? Off to the beach! Okay...



Granny used to say “It’s the last beautiful day” once September arrived with chill crisp in the air. Not this year. It seems we have gained an extra month of summer. The first half of it at least so far. It was rather odd to be on the beach that day. Climate change? There is no denying the change unless you live under a rock and pay no attention to what is happening in the world around you.



I spotted a more rocky stretch in the distance and headed straight there





That’s the spot! It almost looks like a sun clock with those other smaller rocks in a circle

I wasn’t familiar with the rock balancing art much in the past other than seeing the stacks in posts usually about meditation or yoga. In my mind oh how hard could it be to stack some rocks on top of each other? Turns out, not as easy as it seems from the first glance and there are many ways one can stack them too. I would love to learn how to do the counterbalance thingy or how to create some weird shapes.  





Yay! My first stack ever!

Second rock this is easy. Third rock yep a cakewalk. Fourth rock okay maybe not as the rocks nearly land on my foot. The more we allow frustration, anxiety, toxicity, anger or whatever else to cloud our view, control our actions, the higher the chance we will fail. As the rocks land, we try and try to build up, we can’t give in to frustrations. Only in a calm and patient state of mind, we can move forward in a healthy, sustainable, and balanced way. We are stacking our entire lives.







Sometimes all you need is a glass of wine, stepping out there in the vastness, playing in the sand, and stacking some rocks to refocus















Until next time! Thank you for your support! <3

Song of the day: Sugarcult - Los Angeles 

Sort:  

This got me engaged for a long time. And i must say nice pictures there

This got me engaged
For a long time. And i must
Say nice pictures there

                 - adedapo-glory


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Glad you enjoyed them :) Have a nice weekend @adedapo-glory!

Amazing photos!
You got me at wine and sand! Also, very nice grass-art and that disturbed sand looks interesting :)

Anyways, I never liked the new cult of balancing rocks everywhere, it became so mainstream and sometimes they just ruin the great philosophy and tradition. :)

There was this thing that when you go hiking/mountaineering you gather one or two nice rocks at the bottom of the mountain, and place it at the top - so it becomes bigger (grows with every mountaineer) or that you contribute to other's people balancing rock by placing your own etc... :D and the last time I was hiking on a relatively popular place all around the peak were these balancing rocks :/ too much balance is not good either. :)

Totally agree with you @svemirac on the balancing rocks nowadays... never been a tradition here (no mountains) but you see them more and more. The reason why behind the tradition well it seems to be forgotten🤔

@m31 as always great photos to look at! Love the soft colors (i assume right before sunset?)

Ps if this was right before sunset, you did choose sugarcult as a great song of the day! This song brings out so many emotions from a “end of the world” feeling to a very sexy and “do what you want” mood. Perfect song to drive back home🚗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! Glad how they turned out.

Most of them indeed were taken before the sunset :) Ah and the song well.. I just love, love it! I would go with "do what you want" mood hehe

Thank you @svemirac!

Guess I am contributing to the cult xD Dunno about the great philosophies and traditions, but isn't it just human spirit to apply their own meanings to things. That aside the activity itself if is just pure joy and way to entertain yourself.

Last time I hiked up the mountain I also carried my own rock and left it at the summit. No balancing rocks there, just a huge pile of them.

Wow, that is one lovely place!

Yea and not too noisy or too many people either, was perfect for a relaxing day and space for thinking.

Hello brother. Wow. Finally I see you on Steemit. I always see you rock telegram. Lol. Just joking. How are you ?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!! I like to spread myself about a bit, lol!!

Absolutely that's what new Steemit actually means too. Diversify into so many things around 🤗🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

That was such a beautiful post, both in words and in the pictures. I really like the self narrative at the begining. That's exactly how I picture myself doing that activity - "okay one more. One more. Just one more...dammit, they all fell over." lol.
You made quite the stack though. Nice work. Looks like a very meditative activity requiring a lot of focus and patience. I'll have to try it sometime. Great post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aww! Thank you @leaky20 :)

I was struggling a bit. If the rocks would be all flat I guess it would be a different story, but all those different shapes and finding the right spot for balance really isn't that easy. Fun nonetheless! ^^

There is very little I love more than playing around on a beach or in a stream, stacking rocks, looking at the flotsam and jetsam and unstacking the minutia of human life. Beautiful post

Thank you for stopping by and appreciating my post @carlgnash! It was such a lovely day and place to be alive. Hope you get to visit the beach some time soon as well :)

Also not a big fan of the balancing rock things… some spots just are totally out of control and some smaller insect are loosing their habitat, because there less rocks on the ground to crawl under.

Hope I didn't ruin anyone's habitat :(

I had never considered that those stacks of rock could be used as a sort of meditation, but now that i think of it, it must be pretty calming. Tasks that require a lot of attention can be really great for just forgetting the world.

I hope you feel good :)

I guess any kind of task that involves some physical labor works, including stacking rocks and especially when you got to figure out how to keep the whole thing from falling apart. It was nice to turn off the world for a bit. It was a bit like taking a step back to see better of what is going on.

Btw, glad to see you here! How are things? Back to posting soon?

I am okay, i have been kinda stressed lately though, as i will soon be finishing uni. I have also started a new job, so there simply hasn't been any time. I have also been feeling a tad down. But yeah, i am starting to feel like i want to post again, just gotta find the right subject :)

I hope you are feeling good these days!

So, in order to learn how to live, stack rocks? Is glue cheating? :D

Definitely cheating! :D But kind of makes sense no?

Had we humans not cheated with tools, we humans wouldn't have many things, like this Steem blockchain :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful photography, love that sunny day on beach, in autumn that is the moment when we try to catch up and enjoy every single warm day to be out and to walk along the beaches. Love rocks and usually we also try to search interesting stones and rocks on beach.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62