You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Examined Education | Questioning the Current State of Education

in #life7 years ago

I taught high school for many years in Canada; mostly English, History, Special Needs. I decided early on that spoon-feeding was useless and kids needed to be shown that it was to their advantage to think for themselves; not to regurgitate what they thought I wanted to hear so that they could achieve high marks. One year, in my grade 11 English class, I didn't give them grades on their writing; instead I had peer evaluation and my own comments on how to improve their writing. At first they were horrified: "but Ms. Coyle, how will I know how well I'm doing if I don't see and A, B, C etc or percentage on my work?" I told them my job was to improve their skill set, not to simply give them a mark. Over time, they completely appreciated the concept because they could focus on their work and not a number/percentage grade. I had them keep a portfolio of their writing throughout the year, and at the end of the semester, we saw amazing progress! Unfortunately there is so much emphasis put on grades, that students and teachers lose sight of the fact that education is about exploring, thinking, and learning. I never had a problem admitting that I didn't know something because to me, learning is a life long goal!

Sort:  

Nice thoughtful reply! We have forgotten that the only purpose of education is to learn how to learn while loving it.

you said it! and thank you!

Unfortunately there is so much emphasis put on grades, that students and teachers lose sight of the fact that education is about exploring, thinking, and learning. I never had a problem admitting that I didn't know something because to me, learning is a life long goal!
100% Agree! Thanks for sharing your experience and thoughts. I think education will continue to move away from rote memorization , regurgitation, and competition over grades and towards improving oneself and improving the skillsets that are important to each individual.

I was fortunate to have worked in a Fine Arts where creativity was encouraged; I began my semesters showing students this video. If you want to see how education should really look like, check out Ken Robinson's videos. This was from a TED talk series years ago, but so relevant!

School

I will check this video out as well, thanks for sharing it!

You're welcome! He has a lot of great videos out there!

This Ted talk was fantastic! I recommend it to everyone!

Thanks! Yes I agree...I'm so glad you enjoyed it! All of his videos are wonderful! My school actually brought him in for a talk once; the students loved him!

This is a must view video in my opinion. found it years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43