You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Fall Of A Business—Why My Dislike Of All Government Is Personal

in #life6 years ago

Thank you for sharing your story Glen; I've gotten bits of it along the way, but now I understand so many other things (ie/your dislike for government).

Being the publisher who saw the end of a 123 year old newspaper was the most personally stinging thing.

That would have been very difficult! Even though you can rationalize it all, and rightfully so, the perception is still that you failed, which is so unfortunate in our culture. In school, kids (adults) learn by making errors, but in life, if we don't succeed, we fail. Not much in between. The "rip-off" in your story is that the papers' demise was completely out of your hands! I'm still shaking my head about it all.

I truly hope that steemit is a success for you, for all of us, but now that I know your reason for being here, it's all the more crucial for all of this to do well. "Crucial" is maybe a little heavy on emotion, but you get what I'm saying. Besides, I was feeling very emotional when I read your post and waited for today to comment. I think of you as my friend and I want you to do well here :)

Sort:  

That's very kind of you to say, @lynncoyle1. I'm grateful for your friendship and your desire to see me do well here. I can say the same thing about you as well as some others I have met. And, as you were saying, I guess that means the entirety of the platform has to succeed for us to succeed.

What's strange about it is, I expected more emotion out of me when I was writing it. The first post didn't have a lot of emotion attached to it, which was why I was expecting it from the second. But this one didn't seem to be that bad either. Maybe I'm moving on? Or maybe it only comes up when I'm talking about it out loud. :)

I can tell you, though, there's been plenty of emotion attached to all of that over the years. So, in a way, I'm glad that came through.

And I identify with those kinds of feelings a lot because it's exactly what happens to me when you give an update on Brian. Sometimes, there's just nothing that can be said. :)

Perhaps you've told it enough times, that you are actually moving on from it all. That would be the healthiest thing to do, I think. And I hear you loud and clear regarding Brian and the updates; sometimes there are no words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79