Damn Drunk Driver and a Scooter (We are OK!!)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

r6fkjh7brj.png

I was very excited about my return to steemit today! We woke up feeling great, the sun was shining, and @briancourteau was in a poetic mood, so he wrote this beautiful poem for me; A poem to my best friend while we fight my cancer; just when I thought I knew what was in his heart, he surprised me with his poetic sentiments. I was going to write a post about our new apartment ... Above is a quick photo of a fraction of our new patio ... it really is an unbelievable place, but....yes, I know, you're all sensing a "but"!

We decided to make a quick run to the store to find a sushi mat because we were going to make sushi later in the afternoon. When we came out of the store, it was pouring rain, so we waited it out a bit and decided when it had slowed down, to just slowly make our way home, because the roads get pretty slippery here after a rain.

On the way, we stopped at our favorite rotisserie chicken take out spot and off we went. By then, the rain had completely stopped, the sun was coming out, but the roads were still slick. Not even one block from the restaurant, a taxi driver decided to make an illegal u-turn, facing the wrong way, and directly in front of us decided to stop. Brian went to go around him, figuring it was safer than slamming on the breaks. Just then, the driver thought it made more sense to back up, and we had no choice ... Brian hit the breaks, I could feel the rear tire slipping, and before we knew it, we were on our sides, sliding towards the taxi.

Thankfully, we weren't yet going that fast, but fast enough to be bruised, swollen and damn sore. A nice man who owned the flower shop saw it all happen, along with a few other shop owners near by. One of them grabbed me a chair, and Brian went to get me water because my leg and foot were skinned, bleeding and swelling, but before I knew it, I'd fainted and smashed my head on the cement lip of the flower shop; my head has a nice throbbing goose egg still and it's looks as though I've been punched in the eye. Brian's groin and hip is killing him, but overall, we'll live to tell this tale again and again.

An hour or so ago, the Tourist Police phoned us to say that the driver had blown over the legal alcohol limit, and they'd accessed the damage at 20,000 pesos , about $1000 US, and that the driver was in jail pending payout. They do work fast here for some things. The officer just said to Brian on the phone, "we are a tourist destination here"; I guess he wanted us to know that we'd be taken care of.

So, once again, I'm writing a post to fill everyone in, but I know I won't be on here tonight, and we'll just have to see how this old bag of bones feels in the morning :)

To all of you who commented on my last post about moving, I'm so so sorry, but I just realized that I totally forgot to reply to your comments! I feel terrible about that kind of thing, but I want you all to know that I read your comments and really appreciated all of your well wishes!! It surprises me still how many of you actually care and comment on the life and times of Brian and I :) <3<3 Thank you ;)

@abh12345, @trudeehunter, @steven-patrick, @merryslamb, @livinguktaiwan, @maxijgcomm, @itravelarts, @tryskele, @amirtheawesome1, @themanwithnoname, @jusipassetti, @crypto-econom1st, @tussar11, @lapb, @coinsandchains, @bashadow, @wolfhart, @simplymike, @trincowski, @gillianpearce, @headchange, @goldendawne, @insideoutlet, @hopfarmnc, @traciyork, @robertandrew, @willymac, @edprivat, @paulag, @roleerob, @delishtreats, @unyimeetuk

Proud Member of :

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Good heavens... that's HORRIBLE, and coming right on top of moving! I'm just grateful that you're both OK, and that things to seem to have been handled quickly. I just pray that you don't get sore... take it very easy for a couple of days, sometimes these things have a way of taking a little while to manifest. Anyway, prayers and healing to you both!

=^..^=

Thank you @curatorcat! I appreciate that very much :)

sometimes these things have a way of taking a little while to manifest.

I'm thinking that's what's going on with my shoulder blade. I'm right handed and chalked it up to using my computer mouse/typing etc, and I've started swimming a lot again because our new place has a pool, but I'm thinking I'll need some physio or a chiro sometime soon. Brian's groin is messed up, but other than that, Limpy and the Hunchback here are just fine haha

Oh don't even worry about comments. My sp is low so call it even
Just glad you are both alright.
Rest up Steemit will be here I'm sure.

Thank you @headchange! This is what I just replied to simplymike, and the exact same goes for you:

There's certain people, like yourself, that I know will totally understand if I don't reply or do so many days down the road. Thank you for that!! :)

It is cause we just love you any way 💞 Besides I know I am going to do the same exact thing at times lol

Don't worry about replies. I'm just glad you are both OK!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @simplymike :) There's certain people, like yourself, that I know will totally understand if I don't reply or do so many days down the road. Thank you for that!! :)

It was scary, but we are both ok. I was on the scooter once since, and have to admit that I was terrified! It's just not the same anymore :(

any post that involves a drunk driver and a scooter isn't going to end well :( Glad you are both ok. We are all wishing you well.

That's it exactly!! There's nothing between me and the road; and I saw that the whole thing was going to happen and I just had to sit there and let it!

Thank you though, we are healing well. A little stiff still, but soon the cuts and bruises will be no more :)

Did you recently hit 60 rep by the way?! :)

Yes on 60 :) thanks for noticing

Wow I am glad you are okay. Sorry that happened to you. Take care.

I appreciate that @stever82! We're healing up nicely, but a little stiff and sore still. Skin meets road. Not pretty :) Thanks again !!

That's crazy! So scary when moments just go out of control without notice like that. Glad everyone is going to be okay!

Thank you so much @dinoromanelli! That's it exactly ... that feeling of being "out of control" ... I could see it was going to happen, and there wasn't a thing I could do about it. Plus, being on a scooter, there's absolutely nothing between me and the road. Terrifying actually!

Life coming at you...really fast. I totally get that!

uh oh! Sounds like you know that from experience?!

Thankfully...not first hand experience. But out of control is definitely one of my least favorite things! :)

Ohh no what a terrible thing to happen, rest up and take care, WOW the police and legal system work quick there

Thank you @tattoodjay! And yes, there's no messing around here, especially if "tourists" are involved. We've also received phone calls from the head honcho of the taxi union and again from the police explaining the whole process. Apparently they (police) with our receipts tell the driver what he owes us, they tack on whatever they deem necessary based on our physical injuries at the scene, and then check in with us in a few weeks to see if the driver has paid. If not, he's hauled back to jail. It all comes down to compensation and because money is pretty tight for a lot of folks here, the thought is that having to give up their pay is deterrent enough to not drink and drive.

I guess tourism is such a big thing there they have to be proactive

oh...... I'm just grateful that you're both okay.
Rest up and take care.

Thank you so much for caring @shibasaki :) I appreciate that!

I’m thinking maybe ‘welcome to the neighborhood’ would’ve just been too soft maybe??

But I’d probably take a couple bruises straight over to a regulated exchange and trade em for a patio like that, dang!! That’s a good deal ya’all got there.

hahaha right? How about a fruit basket even?! But if these scrapes and bruises mean I can sit on this patio, then yep, I'll take it :)

You Butt heads. Running around the tropics on Daddies credit cards, like 20 year olds on spring break. We will discuss this later at home. I hope you learned your lesson.
For right now your health is more important. The doctor is in so send send me some nude pictures so I can see the bruises. and make sure there is no unseen damage by you.

I am glad you are OK. Watch Brain a little close. rest and ice. you do not go to sleep wait as long as you can. later you can use heat. If you need anything let me know.

They go out of their way for the Tourist and foreign retirement areas.

hahahaha @wolfhart! Somehow I missed this comment, especially when I could have used a good laugh LOL

We did exactly what you suggested though, and it was me that needed staying awake; the bang on my head (I fainted on the sidewalk after the accident) hurt for a few days. We're both a little stiff still, but that's mainly because we're getting old I think :)

You're right about them going out of their way for tourists too. That's exactly what the police were getting at. That's all they need is for things like this to happen and people going back home bad-mouthing the area.

Thanks for caring, and just for being you!!

ROFL

I am glad your feeling better. And you didn't do to much damage to Brain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97