The Joy of Wonder

in #life7 years ago

Whenever I hear the word wonder, I often think of a child - the amazement in their eyes when they behold something truly magical.

***How often are we left in wonder?***

I have not been to the Grand Canyon yet, but every person I know who has is incapable of the words to describe it.

It is amusing to me that it takes something larger than ourselves to lead us into the joy of wonder.

We spend most of our lives chasing this thing or that, only to hand it over to others who may not have wished for it at all.

***Where is the joy in that?***

I’ve never met anyone who lived selflessly return from their journey in doubt of what joy feels like.

Yes, they feel regrets and have wounds from people, but they gave themselves to something bigger than them.

Their joy was not found in accumulation, but discouragement. A discouragement in others not seeing what they were missing while they lived a life they could only imagine.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

Have you been to Carlsbad Caverns?

Now there is something to wonder at. I've been both there and to the Grand Canyon. Wow.

And this is just one planet of countless billions.... :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

I have not, but after looking at a few photos it is on our list.

Countless billions, good thing we have an eternity to explore.... :D

Don't miss the caverns! I was in a state of perpetual awe as we walked through in 1980. My family had to constantly drag me along.

And yes, what would we do without eternity? :D Hallelujah! ;)

This is a great little read! I see both every single day. Some people surprise me with their kindness, while others seem to be missing out on life completely.

Thank you! It’s true, we see both sides of the spectrum. Makes me think they are there to keep us honest.

some never stoop to pick up a leaf, or stop to gaze up at a star. I often think it's because they don't see the magic in living. As Buffy Sainte-Marie said, God Is Alive Magic Is Afoot . Seems simple to me :)

As Buffy Sainte-Marie said, God Is Alive Magic Is Afoot . Seems simple to me :)

Life is not a clockwork orange. :)

there is nothing more greater than self satisfication :D

That feeling of a job well done.

Words to ponder on. Thank you.

Glad you enjoyed it.

Great insight. Chase your intuitions. That way you'll have fewer regrets.

This post has received a 7.62 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lydon.sipe.

This is really cool :)

Amazing post thanks for sharing I enjoyed reading it

Great Post :) Best moments are self-forgetfulness (y)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79