The Importance of Reality

in #life8 years ago (edited)

It is difficult to live a life where you want to be positive all the time and expect the best to happen. People fail you. Circumstances change. That big huge goal you put out there is well, still out there. Life keeps moving on and reality is all the more real. It is a good thing too, because life is not all sunshine and rainbows. It is a mountain range with valleys following peaks, and just for good measure wolves on your six.

Life could give it all to us with a pretty bow on top for kicks. Yet, what kind of men and women does that create? We know now that providing trophies for those that finish first and last brings detriment to both. It waters down the achievement of those who win and leaves those who finish last feeling embarrassed for not earning anything. When do we ever receive a job promotion or earn that customer's loyalty for poor performance?

I want life to be hard.

When nothing moves nothing changes. I would be happy living my life within a book and learning to my heart's content on Youtube everyday. As long as Dominoes delivers, I'm good. The problem is, eventually I would reap depression - it happened once already. The reality is, I miss people eventually and they are far more interesting in person than on screen.

Life can reward us with incredible relationships and incalculable wealth. It can also give us a character that stands like a lighthouse amid the mightiest tempest. The seeds that create each one of these are predictable. Complaining that the mountain is too high or the journey too far only prolongs your outcome.

Life is only worth living when the reward is worth attaining.

My time here on Steemit has been incredible. Yes, the reality is my account is worth less than $300. Do I want that to change? Of course! Do I want it handed to me? I would be lying if I said I didn't. But, giving an individual money only shines a light on who they really are. I know that the greatest gift I have received from my time on Steemit is the joy of writing again. Would I rather be a whale while enjoying writing? Yes. Influence is not measured in the amount of money though, it is measured by how someone earned it. Life rewards people with money who have served better than the next person. If we hand the trophy or the money to the first and the last we ensure that we all fail. I'd rather earn it and come ask you how you were able to be so successful.


Thank you for visiting. Please upvote and alt text


Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

I needed to hear these words today -

"Complaining that the mountain is too high or the journey too far only prolongs your outcome."

Thank you!

Thank you so much for letting me know. Your words inspire me to keep writing mine.

I just screenshot your comment to remind me on the hard days.

You are a really good writer...keep posting! You've got wonderful insights to share and the great thing about it is that people can take from it what they need. Like me.

Some days are truly harder than others. Mine today? On a scale of 0-10? 18 for sure....it was a fight.....but I'm okay now and ready for sleep. :) Good night!

I screenshot that as well, haha.

May you have a blessed night of rest and sleep off the day. Good night!

Wow. Thank you so much! I appreciate that.

Just read your post and it is well done. The quality is top notch. I laughed out loud at the wive's tale about jellyfish and peeing.

Thank you again for mentioning my blog. Following yours now. God bless.

Thank you @lydon.sipe. I try and mention 1 person in each of my posts to help others. Appreciate the follow.

That is a grand idea.

Outrageus post my friend, i like the way you compose your thaughts in this text.Upvoted

Haha. Thank you! Outrageous is a great descriptor. :)

Upvoted and follow. Good post. :)

Thank you @automaton! I appreciate your support. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44