SteemSports 2k Giveaway Submission: My Dad the Dolphins Fan

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The handsome little man there is me when I was 2 or 3. I guess you could say there was never a day that I was not a Dolphins fan, well, except the day I was born.

My dad had me in a Dolphins jersey the second day I was alive - I guess he was not taking any chances.

You see, the 1972 Dolphins hold a special place in my dad's heart. That was the year the Dolphins had the only undefeated season in NFL history. My dad grew up watching the greats like Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, and a man we have both personally met, Tim Foley.

That symbol of perfection in my dad's life is something he holds onto because it was during his sports career that my dad lost his biggest fan. My grandfather passed away when my dad was 17.


The symbiotic relationship between sports and family was forever etched in my father's psyche. He was in the backyard with us every chance he had - he wanted us to know what it was to have a father.


To this day, me and my dad root for the Dolphins - the last couple of years you could say that misery loves company. Sports are more than a game to us. They are a way for the two of us to connect, and be a father and son grateful that we have time together.

Sort:  

Fellow AFC East brother, I commend you on a heartfelt article. Nice work!

My friend who has worked with the greatest quarterback and head coach of all time, I thank you for your kind words.

Although I am bit biased, I agree with you. Marino and Shula are right up there :)

Haha, and that we can agree on as well. :)

Make sure to include the ss2kgiveaway tag!

Ahh, yes, thank you my friend! Appreciate you putting this together!

That is great to spend time like that together. I can only encourage you to cherish it. My dad was never around much, so I never had those fond memories...

I am sorry to hear that my friend.

Thank you for always being an encouragement to me.

Nice work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97