Should I Invest $1 a Month in Steem?: Cultivating Hope for the Dreamers

in #life7 years ago (edited)

There are some conversations that are a reminder of the principles of giving and earning.

This past weekend, a gentleman from Aceh, Sumatra commented on one of my posts. He began asking me investment advice. The question he ask was, “should I invest $1 a month in Steem?"

This man lives in a region of the world where the median wage is $4.50 USD a day.1The articles he had on his blog were making around 25 cents. Yet, the few minutes I spent with him, were about where he is going, and not where he is.

He mentioned his kids in every exchange between us. The possibilities with Steemit are evident to him, and he has hope that his children will have a better life than he does – all he needs is knowledge, and an opportunity.

We all know what it feels like to give to someone in need. That twinkle in their eye upon receiving physical hope, becomes a catalyst for us to give again – it is a beautiful cycle.

As the African proverb says, it is the man or woman without a friend that is truly poor. We are building something special here on Steemit. The ability to connect with anyone around the world in seconds, now is coupled with the ability to teach them to fish by working for themselves.

While my new friend will receive my monetary upvotes, and support, I learned something from him during our conversation – he needs me to keep succeeding.

What we possess in talent, expertise, and knowledge we ought to continue to hone and perfect for the benefit of others. We do our friends in need a disservice by not working to better ourselves, and earn more from our service to others. People don’t generally follow your instructions nearly as much as they follow your example. This gentleman knows that well by setting the example for his kids to work and invest for the future.


Image Sources: 1-2-3

Sort:  

wow what an inspiring read, upped. Thanks for sharing this and keep it up.
With regard to the investment question, feel free to see my latest post about how I exposed @dan ´s secret plan to take over the world. More success to you.

Thank you, my friend!

Your post is on my reading list. :)

Welcome, I appreciate your kindness and support...you are on my steemvoters.com too so I always see your posts too as my top blogger. Bless you and wish you more success.

that was so wonderful to read heart touching story

That is a prudent view. I do believe that in order for one to help others, one must be on a fairly firm foundation.

Absolutely.

One of my favorite quotes is, "you cannot give what you do not have."

Indeed. I like it.

this is a heart-warming post, lydon - you're a likeable person and this came straight from your heart. I'm touched by how you responded to this man :)

The Spirit works on me heavily when I interact with people like my new friend. Kids, and achievers in the rough tug my heart strings. :)

Very inspiring and insightful post. Life only takes on meaning as it is lived in relation to others. Imagine if we lived in a world all by ourselves, what meaning would our life have? In giving meaning and purpose to our life, the most gratifying experience is the one that manifests in service to others and in selfless giving.

the most gratifying experience is the one that manifests in service to others and in selfless giving.

Could not have said it any better. Thank you for your kind comment.

Woah very inspiring post and interesting to read, also a nice question i have to anwser myself also, very nice post hope the best for that man and his kids, thanks for sharing :) have a nice day #keepsteemin

Great Post man! Inspiring - more reasons why I am ready for my move to Nigeria!

There is a group of Steemians there! Excited for you!

Great !!
thank you for sharing
upvote

whats the steemit account for this person

This post has received a 66.89 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lydon.sipe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46