You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Masculinity. What do we have to say?

in #life8 years ago

I find it funny that there have been 91 votes up to the time of me typing these words, and 0 replies. Is it really that hard for guys to say what is on their minds? Well, I would say it is. In the process of women finding their voice over the years, men have forgotten their own. We do tend to be stoic and keep the stiff upper lip. Yet, we come across as out of touch and concerned only about ourselves. We find it hard to be vulnerable and masculine in the same instance, let alone the same sentence. I for one struggled with depression. Many a man as we hear from Thoreau, lead lives of quiet desperation. Why is that? Again, for me, I did not know what I wanted. I did not have an adventure for which I longed for and fought for. The job will kill your soul gentlemen. Don't be like me and wait till you are down the road before you realize it was a wrong turn. Your life is not measured in the size of your belongings, but in the size of your giving. We all want a legacy. Are you living in yours?

Sort:  

Oh great piece there - I enjoyed reading that! Was it the job that depressed you? Or something else? You're also right in the sense that once I found a focus in life I started coping with my depression a bit better. It wasn't an immediate cure, but the focus really helped :)

Glad you enjoyed it. I just wanted to start the wheels rolling in the comments section. Yes, the job was part of the struggle. When we are driven we can become good at about anything. Yet, we can not become satisfied in just anything. I watched too many a man in my life settle for a job that paid the bills. They never really lived. So happy to be doing what I love now and working from home at the same time. It is a bonus to have found steemit recently.

Same - I keep saying to everyone to not settle! To not settle for mediocrity and stagnation. When I was first made unemployed I kept saying to those that held their opinions high - no, I will not shelf stack in Asda to bide my time. I have more to offer than that - and it truly paid off.

And some people say that they can't possibly go for what matters because of their circumstances, but when I probe into their life achieving their dreams would mean sacrifice and they aren't willing to do it.

Swear we are our own worst enemies lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64