My Favorite PoemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

If you have ever watched the movie Interstellar you have heard this poem multiple times. The last couple of nights I have laid in bed and listened on repeat and let my imagination wander.

There are fresh nuances that rise each time I hear these words from Dylan Thomas, and today I noticed the different actions of each man he highlights.

I would be curious what you hear when you listen to the poem. There is a link to Michael Caine reading at the end of this post.

The words that have always struck me are the actions of the wise men at their end. Those men see that dark is coming, and yet they fight it tooth and nail all the same. The human spirit knows no age, and certainly, no aging comes upon it.

As a Christian, one of my longings is for the new earth and Christ's return. The rage of wise men at their end is a similar fire that kindles in my spirit. I detest the ills of this world and how people take advantage of one another. I long for the peace of heaven on earth, and the righteous reign of my king.

What do you feel when you hear the words of this poem? What makes you rage?


Thank you for visiting. alt text me for more great content.


Image Source: 1
Video Source: 1

Sort:  

Abuse against the innocent and helpless makes me rage. For example abuse of children or animals gets me fired up.

I wholeheartedly concur with you there. Whenever I watch Blood Diamond and see how child soldiers are trained it boils my blood.

the poem speaks to me about the beauties of this life that we rage against losing it. Too often believers emphasize the after-life to the detriment of this one. Love the life you know....the after-life is another world

Love the life you know - I like that. There was something a mentor of mine in college said that I have never forgotten. I ask him why we ought to grow in holiness. His response was, "Do you want more of heaven now?"

I like that....Have you read Tozer ...The Pursuit of God? I prefer that vision to say, Jerry Bridge's, The Pursuit of Holiness
anyway, that's me -- it takes only a subtle shift of focus for me to end up relying more on works than grace, but I think your friend was emphasizing the sense of holiness as being more whole and complete - a fully integrated human being

The Pursuit of God is a favorite of mine. Tozer has a way of making theological thought a delight to read..... I had not thought of the emphasis on holiness my friend proposed as advocating a whole and complete human being. It makes sense now that you put it all together, and I dare say sparks a new flame.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84