Movies that Keep me Focused: Warrior

in #life7 years ago

I love watching a good movie. There are times that annoy/amuse my friends and family because I am watching one of my favorite movies.... again.

There was a stretch in college where I watched a movie called Warrior 2-3 times a month for a couple months. My roommate would walk in the room and see me on my laptop and just chuckle, “Warrior again?”

“Yeah,” I would reply with a big grin.

Warrior was on my playback list at that time in my life because I identified with one of the characters - he was doing everything he could to keep his home.

While I was in college, I spread myself too thin and was trying to go to school full time while giving my renter a break on his rent.

It was a tough decision because my renter was working through chemotherapy and recovering from cancer. He was not always able to pay bills on time and I allowed him to go 2 months late multiple times.

Eventually, I cut the cord and said no more - he was not happy about that. Since we had a rent-to-own agreement, he had skin in the game. The legal battle he threatened was cause for concern for me and I found inspiration wherever I could.

Thankfully, things worked out and I didn’t need to go to court to keep my house.

I still watch the Warrior movie off and on to encourage me in other parts of my life.

There are habits and principles the characters live by in the movie that remind me of what I want my family life to look like, and what I don’t want it to look like.

Like all the movies on my favorites list, Warrior is a movie that speaks the truth, however hard that truth may be.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @lydon.sipe.

Lovely written essay and illustration.

Sometimes movies especially one we have seen again and again can really lend themselves to triggering principles and concepts we have previously forgotten....gently reminding us of these truths...just as you say.

The film ... The Book Thief is an excellent example of such a film....one you and @mustardseed might enjoy watching.

All the best. Cheers.

The film ... The Book Thief is an excellent example of such a film

This looks like the kind of movie @mustardseed and I enjoy. Thank you for sharing it with us. We enjoy movie dates.

May you have a blessed day dear, @bleujay.

I'm always happy to have a recommendation for a good movie.

As @bleujay has observed, stories that contain principles can be invaluable reminders that help keep us on track. One of the most profound stories that affected my life was the play "A Man For All Seasons" that I watched while a student in college. I really must write that story one day... :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

And @bleujay is quite right. :)

Oh, I hear an article forming now.

Interesting your fascination with boxing and MMA - It seems at odds with your gentle ways :) Come to think of it, it reminds me that almost every priest I've known seems preoccupied with crime series or movies...hmm, the incongruities of human beings, lol

Lol, an interesting observation there, John. MMA is to me what hockey is to you I would imagine. :)

Warrior was a guilty pleasure of mine. The fighting didn't make much sense though unless Tom Hardy's character went easy on his brother. He was ending other fights with a single punch lol.

Lol, that is true. They made it seem like he was angry with his brother the way he came out swinging, but nothing happened.

I never seen that one, but us guys at work could quote Wall Street just like they did in Boiler Room LOL

Lol, that looks like inspiration.

Warrior again hhaah happens with me too lolz but that's what the great time of life something gets attached for us forever

anather lovely writing i see here its beautifull thankyou for shareing..

some movies will remain special forever and they keep us encouraging some don't like it but it means a lot to us :)

sounds a cool movie if it is available to see online i would check it out today

the post is pretty cool @lydon.sipe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57459.91
ETH 2436.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38