Is Dating Designed to be More Enjoyable than Marriage?

in #life7 years ago

Singles looking for their perfect mate often visualize their Prince Charming or Princess as their means to a life of great sex, stimulating conversations, a cook for the kitchen, or the way to make their home look like an IKEA model.

For those of you that are a few years down the road, you are laughing right now. Marriage can be that same old boring life you had before, only now you are negotiating bed space.


I heard a married woman say once, “You know you’re really married when you quit holding your farts in.” Unfortunately, my wife has been down wind of our fan in my absentminded moments of release.


The truth is, dating is about ethereal ideas, and marriage is a concrete reality. It is easy for us to imagine our spouse cleaning the house in lingerie or bringing us breakfast in bed while we are dating. However, once we live with someone that snores in their sleep and leaves their hair on the soap bar, our mind begins to shift.

I often hear singles talk about the perfect wedding they are planning and how organized their 5 year plan is - you got it, they are still waiting to date. It is amusing to Facebook stalk these folks a few years into their 5 year plan and see how much life has changed.

My wife and I celebrated our two year anniversary on June 13th. We are blessed to have the wisdom of 53 years of marriage from our parents. Thankfully, we were equipped with those 53 years of expertise when I lost 4 figures from trading forex options.

Both our parents raised multiple kids on slim budgets so we were more accustomed to not having versus having. One thing that became abundantly clear to us is that we had to keep dating when the money was tight.


You see, dating is designed to be more enjoyable than marriage. But, without the dating in your marriage, all you have is a roommate.

My wife and I make a point to woo one another - it never stops. Marriage is not a license to say "I won her heart, now I'm good." No, men, marriage is a challenge to win her heart everyday.



Thank you for visiting.alt text me for more great content.


Image Sources: 1-2-3

Sort:  

Solid post; proper advice.

I'm incredibly happy for both you and your wife, you both already know that when you serve each other, you offer bliss and ecstasy to the world.

Wow, quite the blessing you have given us. Indeed, we work to bring bliss to the world.

Thank you for a very encouraging post.

Even after 45 years at the marriage game, I need to be reminded! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

You're welcome.

Haha, don't we all? :)

Oh, see you need to study up on one of my heroes, Mr Buffett. His number 1 rule is to: NEVER LOSE MONEY.
His number 2 rule is to NEVER FORGET RULE NUMBER 1 !!!!!!
You will make it back here. Take it from me, options and margin are straight from the devils toolbox!

Haha, I am reading up on Mr Buffett's mentor right now!

I'm about a quarter of the way through The Intelligent Investor. It is a great read.

You are not kidding, options and margins can be rough! Thankfully, I only did margins on demo accounts and decided I wanted to work through a different medium.

I enjoyed The Snowball.
I lost some sleep to margin accounts. If a client's margin account goes negative, the firm is looking for someone to pay!

Have not read that one yet.

Oy, those would be some sleepless nights.

Resteemed. Solid advice.

Thank you for the resteem!

But, without the dating in your marriage, all you have is a roommate.

Dang right! Wife still ranks first.

Haha. Happy wife... happy life.

We are blessed to have the wisdom of 53 years of marriage from our parents.

This is amazing! You have great role models.

Followed :)

Yes we do! We are mightily blessed. :)

Thank you for sharing these helpful tips on marriage and how dating is an important part to keep it strong, @lydon.sipe

You're welcome brother. Glad you found them helpful.

Definitely!

I have been with the same woman for 30 years.No church No vows no BS No paperwork. If you get along and can grow together its good.

It sounds good indeed.

marriage is a challenge to win her heart everyday...

You say you have faults
I don't see them,
You say that I'm blind
that's the reason,
maybe I am just teasing...
but I just see you

That's precious. :)

I'm in the process of writing that for Deb, my wife, as a post-father's day guilt thing, b/c really, she did all the work

I will try that on her if my poem fails... yeah, but hell, she's more thorough than steamcleaners and insists on originality LOL!! ... and no, I can't console myself by applying it to me - that would make me more conflicted than I am LOL!!

Lol! The gift of being a writer is that our spouse expects a little more....

We don't need you more conflicted John, lol.

Is this?

Better than this?

LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49