Engaging in The Great Conversation

in #life6 years ago

I absolutely love listening to podcasts. Ever since I read that we retain 20% of what we hear, and 10% of what we read, I have made podcasts a focal point in my daily education.

That is not to say that I don’t enjoy reading or seek to read for an hour or so a day - which I do. In fact, there is nothing so calming and capable of clearing my thoughts as reading is.

The point of both these disciplines is to engage in the great conversation.

Every human being joins with Pilate at some point in their life and asks, what is truth?

From the earliest classics, such as Homer or Augustine, to the popular podcasts of today, like Joe Rogan, there is an ongoing conversation in our world about what that answer is.

Whether it is finding a balanced political ideology, knowing the difference between alkaline or acidic foods, or finding God in all His majesty, the great conversation shapes society and culture.

Truth is truth. And while some may think they know it and vehemently tell you so, we all have blind spots. That is why we converse with one another and set aside our milieu to think objectively with our neighbor.

Sadly, existentialism is prevalent amongst my peers and it’s subjective truth has a vice grip on their thought process.

That is one reason that I am looking into creating my own podcast.

There is a need for cordial conversation in the stickiest of subjects in our day, and I desire to have those discussions.

As such, I am curious to hear your thoughts. Who would like to come on the podcast if it happens? Who do you think we ought to have a conversation with? What subjects would be interesting to discuss?


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

I think you should definitely do it!! I'd tune in. And if there's a live chat I'd ask questions for the guest :p I'd be one of those people.

Ever since I read that we retain 20% of what we hear, and 10% of what we read, I have made podcasts a focal point in my daily education.

Interesting. I'm glad you defied the odds and remembered that.

And if there's a live chat I'd ask questions for the guest :p

Lol, I hadn’t thought of that! :p

Follow the direction your spirit leans,
and rein in your expectations of the result;
you may be surprised where it leads...

I'm in 👍

Great! You are always supportive, Craiggles.

I would participate, and listen. My favorite subjects are Libertarianism, crypto currency, naturalpathic medicine, and the kingdom of heaven.

Those are all subjects I want to talk about, lol.

it really depends on the subjects and on what you wanna make out of this. If for example is a complicated matter i suppose an ''expert'' would be more valuable to everyone but if you want to talk about things that need more critical thinking then the ''everyday'' person will be just fine!

Interesting and looking forward to your podcast @lydon.sipe. Which direction do you intend for it to take - life/business/money/trading/politics/health?

Or would it be about everything?

It would be a little bit of everything. My friend and I enjoy Joe Rogan and we have in mind to model the podcast after his.

Certainly friend I love that you propose to record your podcast of motivation would be an opportunity for you to increase the number of your followers. You should also think about editing it in at least two languages: English and Spanish. Receive a warm hug @lydon.sipe

That is a good idea, Felix. Thank you!

As Pasternak once wrote, communication between mortals is immortal

Oh, that is good. What we do and say echoes in eternity.

Lydon,

I would love to have a conversation with you about almost any topic.

The topic you raise in this article is particularly interesting.

"Truth is truth. And while some may think they know it and vehemently tell you so, we all have blind spots."

I have been distressed in my almost two years on Steemit to discover the occasional Steemian who does not even acknowledge that "truth" is something objective, that it even exists... :O I find such a position both alarming and sad.

😄😇😄

@creatr

the occasional Steemian who does not even acknowledge that "truth" is something objective, that it even exists... :O I find such a position both alarming and sad.

Hmm, sounds like we have some work to do - at the very least, seeds to plant for the harvest.

Amazing content bro...i love this....great job...keep it up.

i don't listen that much of podcast but seems like i need to get started

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75