Defining Your Steemit Brand

in #life7 years ago (edited)

When people start talking about brand and beliefs, there is one word that comes to my mind, and that is why.

Our minds are wired to follow people who know what their why is and how to communicate it. We can listen to stats and figures for a while, but it does not influence our behavior or earn our loyalty. The why question permeates to the core of our being – it sparks the beliefs that we may or may not have hidden away.

@mrs.steemit wrote a great article here, where she explains the process of defining what your brand is online. Whether it is online or offline, who we are and what we believe is our brand. The faster we figure that out, the faster we attract the people who we may serve.

In her article, @mrs.steemit works with a tool called the brand prism. The prism walks you through the process of defining inward beliefs and goals, while helping you craft the outward message that your audience will hear.

Here are a few examples.

------------------------

The Brand Process

So how does one go about defining their brand? First off, I think having a few words that sum up your brand is helpful. Like Nike, Just Do It, it gives people a message they can carry and make their own – it is a way for them to connect with you.

I believe Jesus is Lord. I believe in the maximum prosperity for mankind. I believe we are here to serve. – Lydon Sipe

That is my brand in a nutshell. Whether the subject is sports, crypto, culture, or politics it is filtered through the lens of God glorifying, and encouraging to my fellow man. My great desire is to build things that last.

What does that look like in the brand prism?

-Physique: I believe statements. Pictures of family

-Relationship: Seize the day. Seek wisdom. Serve people.

-Reflection: Full of energy. Competitive. 1% better every day.

-Personality: Lifestyle. Simplicity. Traditional

-Culture: There is hope. You before me. Here to serve.

-Self-Image: Focus on friendships. I am blessed.

This exercise was not as easy as I thought. There are finer points to each category that truly help to pinpoint what an external and internal brand image looks like. I enjoyed investing the time in this.

What is your Steemit brand?


Image Sources: 1-2-3

Sort:  

Great post here. My branding goal was pessimism and analysis....which is just how I am in RL, so not really re-inventing myself. Hope it comes off that way!

My perception of your brand is that of a well balanced view and a focus on conversation starters.

You nail that brand! I enjoy your analysis, and realistic insights.

That is what I go for - it is good to hear that is how it comes across.

I agree with you because being true to your brand offline and online leads to success. Always good to read your post.

A person of integrity - well said.

You are welcome, always.

Agree with you here. It's so much easier to be the same offline and online and not try to reinvent the wheel.

You are always on point bud, thanks for your comment

A very interesting read Lydon with good pointers to define ones core from which to project a brand image.
A clear objective makes everything flow in the right direction.
Food for thought.

I read that article, lydon, and I agree the ordinary person needs to know what they are about - what their identity is. But if you're not, say a writer, or a corporation etc. you don't need to fill out an elaborate diagram - and even I try not to get too introspective in a Portrait of the Artist sense.

I advise people to become somebody first, before working about developing or promoting a distinctive voice or brand. What you project to the world needs to flow out of who you are - but you don't need to be so intensive about it.

I don't have a mission statement and I don't even know if I have a consistent philosophy other than the fact that I love animals, I like people and I try to be kind lol

If someone asked me about my 'brand' I'd say this:

I don't write erotica or edgy material, and don't deviate from the essence of who I am because certain types of writing are 'hot'. I want to first be someone - get my own pain - have my own message - acquire my own distinctive voice, and always give my audience something. I give away my stories, poems and quotes. How else will people get to know me and what I'm about?

So, that's about it. I suppose it's a wise man who knows that he doesn't completely know himself, but he at least tries to be authentic.

If there is anything our conversations have revealed to me about you, it is that you are authentic and personable.

That comes from a man who knows whose he is.

On a lighter note, haha, do you mind checking out my friend's posts? I reblogged his first article.

thanks, lydon. I was intending to read it today but my wife called me away, and I wrote a lengthy response to yours, so I kept her waiting, I'm afraid :)

You are a good man, John. :)

I may just be too much of a generalist for Steemit.... But I'll have to try this prism thing anyhow! ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Haha, that was my attitude towards it - it's fun to try new things. :)

I think the exercise is something we all should, as beginners on steemit, do. It would help us figure out what our objective is in the long run.
For me, I am a beginner gardener and herbalist so this could be a platform for me to show others my progression, errors and triumphs.

Great advice in this post.

It would help us figure out what our objective is in the long run.

Excellent point. Hard to follow a plan if there isn't one.

It is clear that you put some effort into thinking about your brand. I know from YouTube, the channels that kept to their focus seemed to do the best.

That is encouraging, thank you.

Yeah i saw that post and that was a great article to read !!

This post has received a 6.07 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lydon.sipe.

thank you for sharing
upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55