The N-Word: Why Do Black People Think it's Ok?

in #life7 years ago

Has anyone noticed how often rap music included the n-word...aka "nigga"?
It's such a disgusting word. Do they not understand that it's no better than it's real word...aka...nigger?
Every single time I hear a song with the word I turn it off cause it makes the artist sound exactly like the word means...stupid and ignorant.
And Black People are the ones who feel it's ok to use! Why?! It makes no sense
When I hear Black People on the street greeting each other saying "What's up my (n-word)" all I hear is "What's up stupid?" That is insulting yet they don't seem to get that!
I wish the word would go away forever.
As a mixed white person it's even more frustrating for ones like me who'll be hunched in with these people. We're not black! Yet many mixed are more than willing to follow like sheep and use this disgusting word as well.
When and how can we make this stop? Because until the Black People stop using it, everyone else will still think it's ok to say.
the-n-word.jpg

Sort:  

This video pretty much covers...minus the ending...what I'm talking about:

Nice to see you back Lydia. I agree the word has too much negative energy attached to it. If you really think about it, it seems rather ridiculous that a word that was used to demean and persecute has now been adopted by the ones it was used against. I understand they may be thinking that they have "turned it around", however there's too much bad past energy contained within it. 🙏 Upvoted & following to support you.

Thanks for the support.
You and I are pretty much on the same page here. Trying to turn a word around just doesn't work if the original context still exists and is used in it's negative sense.

Interesting perspective on this, of course no one should be exposed or expected to engage in any language that makes them feel uncomfortable or offended. I for one do not use this language because of my own vibrational attachment to it. However it does not directly insult me.

I do have many friends that do use it casually and I have asked them about it, as I am often referred to as "my nigga" too. I am not offended by it although I do not reciprocate it. Once I was explained by my friends mom that the way my friend grew up, his community would use the word as a reference to each other as a way to reclaim their own indentity.

My innerstanding is that "nigger" being the derogatory term used mostly by white people to address their slaves had such negative history that this new generation use "nigga" to empower themselves and turn it into something they do feel comfortable using. Thus negating the insult from racists.

Anyway, that's from the words of my friends who are indeed considered "black", african, african-american, west indian, british born. Personally I suspect a more sinister social programming deployed by media to usurp the interracial attitudes of our youth.. however I'm obviously a conspiracy theorist and like to over think things lol..

I heard the same silly excuse for the simple change on the "er" to "a". But it's the same word. To try to reclaim a word like that isn't how it works. It sounds no better. And this is coming from someone forced to be considered about of that community who has this backwards thinking. I have glared down blacks who try to call me this and explained exactly why and the look of confusion is actually embarrassing at this point. It's the same look when I tell them that having their pants riding under their butts is a sign they want to be raped....

I respect your opinion. Guess as always it all comes down to perspectives and delivery. I know my friends don't mean any malice with their words and if they're ignorant to the wider impact or not, they still good peoples.

True about the saggin' though, prison shit made trendy why? Lol most my boys in London laugh at that stuff but I seen it creeping in over there too. Smdh

Conscious language is soooo important and you've highlighted a big one. Thanks for the mindfulness and heads up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56