wtf?!

in #life6 years ago

Today at 4pm I attempted to use the restroom facilities at Pioneer Courthouse Square in Portland Oregon, I was denied access to the stall I attempted to use by security. I was told that it was specifically for; "handicap persons" even though the sign on the door stated; "All-Users". I was then kickout of the facilities for questioning the guards reasoning. I informed the front desk who gave me a card and went in to get the guards name, a Caucasian man entered the stall I had been band from. This man wasn't not handicapped and was not harassed by the guard in anyway, I inquired; "why didn't you say anything to him?" and received a condescending smile. I am what you would call African American, I am also disabled and felt no need to reveal that information to use a public restroom designated "ALL-USER". What happened to humanity?!

Sort:  

Rude! Well that sucks man. I'd definitely talk with his supervisor.

Wow. What an idiotic move. I'm sorry man.

They control who can and can't enter the poop stall? :(
You're right to not reveal your disability (your privacy is important) but it's wrong if someone else who didn't need it was allowed to use the disabled stall.
Just curious though, how do you know the other guy didn't have a disability? As you know, sometimes it can be hard to tell.
That said if it actually was a case of prejudice then the employees boss should hear about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23