Why I am proud to be an American

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Why I am proud to be an American

(Above is my citizenship speech, hope you like it!)

 

As we near the 4th of July and everyone looks forward to barbecues with friends and family amid the summer heat, I wonder do Americans know how lucky they are? I officially became an American last year after spending 15 years as a green card holder here. After voting for the first time (for Trump btw) and getting my passport, changed to my married name and now it will be my first 4th of July as an American!

Reason 1 to be a proud American - Free Speech

I have watched with dismay the erosion of free speech and the increase of terror attacks in the UK. Being a Brit, it is distressing that citizens can no longer voice their worries and opinions on social media for fear of getting arrested. The UK police regularly tweet their "hate speech"; arrests rather than solving the problem of Islamic terrorism. Europe is an Orwellian nightmare of political correctness gone awry.

America on the other hand, is the land of free expression. A country where you can agree to disagree, state your views without fear of censorship and arrest. It is enshrined in the Constitution, thankfully and let's hope we maintain it against political correctness and the fear of 'offending'; certain people.


Guns protect us against a corrupt government

It's no coincidence that the first thing a corrupt government does is take away the right for citizens to bear arms. Communist and totalitarian regimes always remove guns before gradually reducing the right to protest and free speech. When my husband first introduced me to a gun, I was nervous and apprehensive. The loudness and kickback from the pistol took a while to get used to. It doesn't bother me anymore. Secondly, guns protect you! The terror incidents in Europe would have been shorter if there was conceal carry.

Life is more comfortable here

When I first came to the States as a 17-year-old tourist, the differences between USA and Europe became apparent. Large food portions, expansive highways and general friendliness to strangers appealed to me. After living here and traveling to less developed other countries, it's apparent that the standard of living is much better here than Europe or Asia.

There are many places where running water and toilet is not standard. When I was in Morocco, a family invited me to stay at their house in the countryside near Fez. The house was a hut with a cow, some chickens in an adjacent room near the living quarters. The toilet was a crouching hole and water came from the spring, a 20-minute walk. Life wasn't easy for them but nevertheless, they seemed content.

My own relations in Hong Kong lived in similar circumstances until my uncles saved their hard-earned funds to build a house. To live in decent housing means long hours at work, often long commutes as rents and mortgages become ever more expensive and unobtainable.

Unlike some naysayers, I believe the American dream is still alive. You can choose to work hard and smart to obtain your goals or not. Even the most basic rental in USA has running water, a toilet, AC, a dishwasher, fridge and stove. Supermarkets offer plentiful, cheap food. For now, gas is inexpensive and so are cars, depending on your choice.

To summarize, ever wonder why so many people want to emigrate to the USA? It's the best country to live your dream. Happy 4th of July everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44