A Day with the AmishsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

IMG_654878a13.jpg

If you want to spend a few minutes on a farm to forget about the computer in front of you, tune in.

Today we drove to Kentucky to visit our community supported aggriculture (CSA) Amish farmers. We had a truly wonderful time and great conversations. I so enjoyed connecting with those who make our food while they live principles they deeply value. I had some wonderful conversations about technology, the systemic risks it can create, and the joy that comes from work.

Thanks for watching. I hope you can find moments of peace to reconnect with the earth and the food it provides.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

I respect the Amish. It can't be easy living with minimal means but they do, also they don't bother others (as far as I know) much with their way of living. They put minimal stress on the earth. Thanks for your video I enjoyed watching it.

Not sure if you into movies but the movie 'Witness' is great and the Amish play a big part in it. Harrison Ford plays the lead. It's a little bit older, from 1985, but a good watch.

I grew up near Amish county . My grandparents would take me to horse auctions in shipshewana IN. I have great memories. The older I get, the more I envy the lifestyle. Except for the no-music doctrine of most Amish sects. I could probably be okay.

Thanks for taking us along

Thanks for your comment! I do think we have a lot to learn from them. If a big EMP ever hits, we may have to rely on them.

I love this video Luke. I find myself a little envious of the Amish lifestyle at times. A part of me wants to move to a secluded farm and become as self-sufficient as possible. I'll take the electricity though, preferably through some Tesla solar roofing :)

enjoyed the video

Thanks Tarzan. I had fun making it. :) Playing around with iMovie is becoming a fun little hobby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76