My New Reality

in #life7 years ago

Today I had a little breakthrough. Ever since getting off pain meds and breaking out of a very long depression. I found myself kinda overwhelmed here the last few days. Just a barrage of emotions from everywhere. Yesterday it was my moms passing away earlier this year. The day before that. It was the emotional damage I had caused my wife and kids, that had taken center stage in my head. And before that, I was introduced to a myriad of things that I had left unattended or outright ignored (work, finances, relationships, my health). All because I couldn't deal with my chronic pain, the damn pain meds, or the very long deep depression from the combination of both.

But today when I woke this morning, I had a bit of a reprieve from the guilt, grief, and shame. Today I made a list of all I have left in my life to be thankful for. I could see that not all is lost. I could see I have today to effect some positive changes in my life. And made a list of things that I can take action on. While the list is long. I just needed to do one thing at a time. Put one foot in front of the other. And in doing so I now have a plan. A direction towards peace of mind and a little accomplishment along the way. As of now, I feel better knowing I have a direction in which to go. I'm not stuck regretting the past. But can focus on the present. And give my mind something else to do rather than bet myself up.

Having a plan and implementing it knocks things down to a manageable level. And it gives some peace.
So as today comes to an end. I'm looking forward to what I can do tomorrow. And that's my new reality. And I am greatful for it!

Sort:  

That’s awesome mate. It will be amazing to see what you can do here on Steemit with your newfound motivation.

Thanks we will see. I'm just doing this for me, and if someone out there resonates with where I'm at in my journey well that's a bonus for sure. Hopefully I'll figure out the markdown style and can put up something worth looking at someday lol

Markdown style is easier than it looks. It’s also surprisingly easy to centre images etc. just google search the instructions.

Congratulations @lukedawg74! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63