My Mount Thabor skitouring ascent, Vallestretta valley 25/03/08. With videos made by me and pictures.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0665.jpg

Yesterday I was in a bad mood. Life is too complicated: what scares and annoys me more are the bill, taxes, paper shit and job worries.

Then I got in my mountains agains. It’s been a while, lately I didn’t go as I am used to because I was totally kidnapped by the cryptocurrency world and so, yes I slowed a lot my training rate and my presence in the nature.

This is the worst choose for me: if I stay too long away from certain kinds of sport and from the mountains I get really really crazy, I better say insane.

Well, that said today I had one of the most beautiful day in my whole life in a pretty simple way. The best is very often simple.
Ski touring consist in going up whit special skis in the feet , they have a special skin below them so you don't slide backwards. When you reach the top, you remove skin and then you go down as if you had normal skis. Ski touring is the best thing in life, more then climbing or walking, total white, sun relax, sometimes wind and bad weather, so good for mental and physical health. the ascent is very tiresome but still very nice, you feel good and healthy, the descent is just fun and you save the fatigue of coming back. At the end what makes it explosive is the perfect mix.

I have been in my home valley: “Vallestretta” which is located in the north west part of Italy and I already posted pictures about it. It’s on the border between Italy and France and actually - after world war 2 - Vallestretta is in France. Something I am thinking a lot lately is the incredible fact that the human kind uses to destroy itself whit absurd wars and it it wasn’t for the existence of the atomic bomb we would have probably lived our lives in the Third World War beetween USA and URSS. But now I think I’m getting too much off topic. So let’s come back to my mountains. I think that you probably prefer to see such natural beauties instead of my philosophy, then I now shut up and post the pictures and video I did today , hoping that it can take you there a little.

The mountain is called Thabor and is at the end on Vallestretta valley, it is 3100 meter hight on sea level and the difference from the start is around 1700 meters. It takes like 10 km and another 10 to come back. I have been on the top of this mountain the first time when i was a little child, whitout the snow is still long but much less tiresome

Here i am in the middle of the tour, on my side there is mount "Seru'"

Here after a while, damn it was long!

at the end the summit: you can see the french alps of "Delfinato" area, Barre des Ecrins, Meje .... see my other post about Barre des Ecrins.

A skitouring trip starts preparing the equipment the day before, now i don't have pictures of my rucksack preparation but i show you the steps of putting the wax on my skis:

  1. melt down the wax whit the iron and spread it whit the iron on the skis (don't stay too much on a single point or you will burn skis)
    IMG_0631.jpg

2)Scrape the wax off the surface, we dont' need too much of it
IMG_0632.jpg
IMG_0633.jpg

  1. brush skis to make them smooth
    IMG_0634.jpg

Here some other pictures of the trip:

in the 1/3 of the tour: Mount Thabor is far in the middle (round one), on the right there is Serù mountain:
IMG_0668.jpg

Passing by Re Magi mountain:
IMG_0672.jpg

IMG_0673.jpg

IMG_0674.jpg

IMG_0675.jpg

the big white:
IMG_0676.jpg

IMG_0678.jpg

Notice the snow glittering as diamonds!
IMG_0679.jpg

Entering a cloud:
IMG_0681.jpg
IMG_0682.jpg

Summit is closer:
IMG_0683.jpg

Over the cloud:
IMG_0684.jpg

Me on the top
IMG_0685.jpg

Well, now i can go down to face the human kind again, my sweet love and our children are waiting at the hut and we will have a nice polenta and dear meal , i am happy and my face is tanned. Life is not so bad taking it in a mountain way!!

See you at the next adventure, byby

Luigi
ps: forgive me for my bad English... i am Italian

Sort:  

I think, you mistakenly put the wrong date on 1st and 3rd video. You wrote 2017. Or, are these recorded in 2017?

you a re right!!! nono i made them yesterday, now i corrected it

So, your post is just awesome. I liked the snow. It is so white and clean! and thanks for the correction :)

Thank you for sharing your experience in the mountains. It is amazing how getting back to nature is so restorative for the human spirit. I've not been to the mountains in northwest Italy, but it looks absolutely breathtaking. In the videos, I could sense how quiet it was there. The only things you can hear are the wind and the crunch of the snow under your shoes. A wonderful post, @luigiborla--I'm glad you shared this.

spectacular photos brother, every place on the planet has its own beauty and that place where those photos come from is not left behind. excellent view

Great picture! I like it 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87