I won't give up on you Grandma. <3

in #life6 years ago

IMG20180416092145.jpg

I can still remember how I tried my best not to cry back when I visited my grandma. The plan was to visit my grandma and her sisters, then explore Cambucad and have fun since it's summer. The travel was a little bit exhausting but it was worth it. As soon as I arrived, I rushed to see my grandma since it's been years since I haven't see her face. Then, there I found her sitting in her bed, not expecting to see me. I hugged her and told her that I missed her. She eventually smiled and greeted me back.

Then we started chatting and talking about a lot of things since grandma loves chitchat and stuffs. And then her sisters - which are basically my grandmas as well came to talk with us as well. They told me that grandma just hardheadedy refused to start walking again. They said that they kept on encouraging her but my grandma just didn't listen.

The thing is my grandma was unable to walk for four (4) years now. And since she's staying with her sisters, her sisters had made a lot of sacrifices for her. Feeding her, taking her wastes away, taking care of her, taking her to check ups and many more. All they ever wanted was for my grandma to just walk so she could at least go to the bathroom on her own. But she couldn't and that's why her sisters became so upset.

I can clearly see how upset and disappointed they were. Then, I made up my mind to encourage her myself. It was afternoon and grandma was sitting alone so I decided to approach her and talk with her.

IMG20180416092101.jpg

Me: Granny, why don't we take a small walk outside and see how the others are doing?

Her: No, I find it hard to walk.

Me: Don't worry, I'll be here to guide you. I promise.

Her: No you don't have to. They kept on telling me to do the same, but I just can't. My legs hurts and I can't endure the pain.

Me: I know, the pain will be there but as long as you practice it, you'll eventually get used to it and then you won't feel the pain anymore.

Her: Don't worry about me. You don't have to waste your time helping an old useless human like me. Go and do good at school and find a work someday.

I was literally speechless. I mean, how could my grandma say this? I was holding my tears back since I'm not really a strong person. I could easily fall and cry. I'm not really good at trying to be fine.

Me: Grandma, listen to me okay? Back when I was still as school, it was our finals and we have to compile a of things, we had projects, research papers, online outputs to work on to and many more. I did my best on compiling everything up and gladly, I was able to do all of them before the due date. But some of my classmates are having a hard time on compiling their own outputs. That's why I decided to help out. I helped them make an introduction for their blog, travelogue and reflective essay, I helped on making their Wordpress accounts, I even helped out on making their articles, and not mention I'm not helping to only one person but a few of them, I even lost count. I also helped out on making their thesis and research paper. See? I helped too many people who's not even blood related to me, and now you're telling me not to help you when you're my grandma?

My grandma wasn't able to answer me. And I was honestly teary eyed at that time. I badly wanted to help her out but she's pushing us away. After that conversation, her sisters appeared and talked to her. Saying that she should at least follow her granddaughter.

I sighed and looked up to avoid my tears from falling. I let them talk with her for awhile as I went out the house to breath and think. I remembered I wasn't able to greet my grandma a "Happy Birthday" on her birthday. I was late. I forgot. I promised to buy her a cake when I come back again. And by then, I'll encourage her to walk again. I wont give up on her. And I promise I'll do whatever I can to help. I'm her granddaughter after all. And I love her so much.

IMG20180419075158.jpg

I then went for a little walk and took a few pictures so I could show it to my grandma who's never been outside for years.

Sort:  

The picture is beautiful

Thank you. This picture was taken at Cambucad, Valencia, Negros Oriental Philippines. ^^

Wow, amazing. Want to come to that place

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61746.46
ETH 3447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50