Epic Journey Through Latin America: Broken and Healing Love in Motion

in #life6 years ago

Many people assumed I would quit and go home but a broken arm in Panama is not stopping me!


Still, I am focused and moving onward.







After nearly 3 weeks of separation from Fabio he called me to say he was at the bus stop in El Valle, Panama, where I was visiting a friend.


In my excitement, while it was raining, I jumped on a
bicycle that I knew was having mechanical problems.


While cruising downhill I hit a bump and the
handlebars went out of alignment.


The jerking motion to attempt to fix them
without stopping the bicycle proved to be very stupid.


I lost control and landed in the concrete rain gutter.







After an ambulance drove me and my now reunited
Fabio to the hospital where I received this X-ray







I spent 5 days in the hospital.


The surgeon put 2 pins in my wrist to hold it back together.


Needless to say I was relieved when he told me that
I'll have a full recovery after about a month.







Because the fluorescent lights are always beaming
I slept with my head under the sheet.


When I heard voices around me I lookout to see
I am at the center of the intern classroom.







Hospital food.


I don't even know where to start.


Styrofoam, processed and dyed yogurt, white rice...


I could really get on a rant here but since
I'm typing with one hand it will have to wait.


The saddest thing is that many people will assume this
is good stuff just because it's in the hospital.







The next few days Fabio uses his time to make more
jewelry while we regroup to figure out a new plan since I must remain
near the hospital over the next month for cast maintenance







After 3 nights in El Valle we load up and continue on south
to Panama City's beautiful Casco Antigua or formerly Casco Viejo.





We are excited to be here in this beautiful city with an amazing history.


Cinta Costera is a beautiful outdoor market only about
a 5 minute walk away from our hostel.







The view at night is truly amazing!


Selling our jewelry alongside the other vendors is a lot fun.


I really love the street artist vibe and all the people I meet.







After a little healing I am learning I can make earrings but
I seriously miss doing my macrame art jewelry.







Fabio works the booth while I remain at the hostel,
healing,
selling tarot readings,
collecting custom jewelry orders and
doing the online marketing.


We're having a lot of fun while raising funds,
recruiting volunteers and
organizing tours of his beloved San Blas Islands.


Do you love what we're doing?


You are invited to support the
Kuna Love fundraiser
for keeping this community alive and continuing to teach us
while preventing their ancient and core ways
from being watered down into mainstream society.


Preservation of Panama's Indigenous Kuna Ways




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~_~


Keep Following.


I got many more fun-believable experiences,


and amazing photography,


I'm serious!


My stories are continuously unfolding as I continue my unique journey south.



Your UpVote, Follow, Repost and Comments support me to keep the...


Sort:  

I am reading your post with my mum and telling her a bit about the amazing woman you are and the incredible journey you are on.
She herself went to Peru from Australia, on her own at 50. Before she even made it to Peru she broke her arm in Argentina. She continued on, even though we all told her to claim her travel insurance and come home. She had her arm set in buenos aires (in a similarly sturdy plaster to yours), and trekked on. She camped and climbed to Machu Picchu.
I have shared a bit of the back story you have told me. You are our soul sister for sure.
Great to see you still smiling. 💜

I just read this. You're mother is a kindred spirit. One of my big goals on this journey is to climb up Machu Pichu. The other one was to climb to the top of the Pyramid of the sun in Teotihuacan. Check. I did that!

Thanks for this story about your mother. I'll be telling her story. Very interesting.

Hugs! Keep on steemin.

It is so wonderful to watch your journey. We are kindred spirits for sure.
I have been trying to make jewellery. I have a new appreciation for your wonderful creations. I am gaining great satisfaction from wire wrapping gems, but the beading has been... less instantly gratifying.

My mother is the granny I referenced in the beanie posts. She has knitted a beanie for each child at @schoolforsdg4. She is convinced that she can put a warm hat on every kid in Syhlet for winter.

https://steemit.com/life/@girlbeforemirror/beanies-bound-for-bangladesh

You're brave! Steem on!!

Yeah, I really braved through that hospital food.

Some people call me stubborn.

Forever Steeming!

Super awesome! Thanks again!!

You are wonderful and amazing. You taught me what perseverance is. I wish you well.

I'm grateful for your genuine comment.

Steem on!

sorry to hear about your bike accident...im sure stories of your recovery and adapting to this temporary one handed life will prove fruitful.
healing and blessing to you @loveon

It's definitely added some interest to my experience. It's forcing me to remain in an area I had not planned on so fun to see what will unfold next.

Grateful for the support! Steem On!

Better your arm than your head, right? :) How are the medical expenses paid? Staying in a hospital here for that long would be around 5,000 dollars.

It cost me a total of $56.00 and they only take cash. I've thought about how if I had not put out my hand to catch myself it would have been my head. So, yes, grateful it's my arm.

I think $5,000.00 for the USA is actually the cost for one day. I was there for five days.

Grateful for the support! Steem on my brother!

That's an amazing contrast in costs and services. It's also a real shame that things here are so expensive. :(

I looked up that Tiffany bracelet. Easy to copy. Grateful. I'll be making some.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17