My 10 Tips On How to Learn a Foreign Language Mis 10 Consejos sobre cómo aprender un idioma extranjero

in #life8 years ago

When I was 40 years old I took my first Spanish class at the local university. At the time, I spoke almost no Spanish. Today, twelve years later, I can say I have spent months living with people who speak no English. My biggest challenge with the language is understanding what I hear. However, with a patient native speaker long conversations are very do-able. Being bi-lingual has seriously upgraded my life.

Cuando tenia cuarenta años hice mi primera clase de español en una universidad local. En este tiempo, hablaba casi nada de espanol. Hoy, doce años después, puedo decir que lleve meses viviendo con personas que no hablaban inglés. Mi mayor reto con el idioma es entender lo que escucho. Pero con un nativo de buena paciencia pudimos tener largas conversaciones. Ser bilingüe en serio ha mejorado mi vida!

Learning a new language has exploded my world. Not only have I had great conversations with people all over Latin America who only speak Spanish, I have traveled to remote places and been immersed in cultures I never could have imagined. Now, because my confidence with getting around in foreign countries has evolved I am comfortable to travel through the Americas for an extended journey. However, learning Spanish has not been easy.

Mi mundo se expandió gracias a que aprendí una nueva idioma. No sólo he tenido excelentes conversaciones con personas por todo latino américa que sólo hablan español, tambien he viajado a lugares remotos y me submerse en culturas que nunca me hubiera imaginado. Ahora que mi confianza teniendo que moverme dentro de países extranjeros ha evolucionado, estoy cómoda para viajar por las Américas para un largo viaje. Y les voy a contar, aprendiendo español no ha sido fácil!






Because I am an older student of the language I have had some somewhat unique challenges and tougher hurdles to jump over. As a result I have implemented a variety of "tricks" to help me imprint vocabulary and grammar.

Como soy un estudiante mayor del lenguaje me aparecieron algunos retos medios únicos y más obstáculos para cumplir.
De resultado he implementado una variedad de "trucos" que me ayudaron mejorar mi gramática y vocabulario.



Here's a list of my favorite "tricks":
Hice una lista de mis "trucos" favoritos:

  1. Obtain a very good student translation dictionary with the verb charts in the middle of the text. My favorite is Vox Spanish and English Student Dictionary PB, 2nd Edition (Vox Dictionaries)

Obtener un Diccionario de traducción muy bueno que incluya las tablas de conjugación en el texto. Mi favorita es Vox Spanish and English Student Dictionary PB, 2nd Edition (Vox Dictionaries)



2.Obtain a 501 Verb Dictionary then use it to learn the Verbs. My favorite is 501 Spanish Verbs with CD-ROM and Audio CD (501 Verb Series) because at the begining of the book there is a really good section on explaining the complex verbs in a very simple, easy to understand manner.

Obtener un diccionario verbo 501 y luego usarlo para aprender. Mi favorita es 501 Spanish Verbs with CD-ROM and Audio CD (501 Verb Series) porque al comienzo del libro tiene una buena descripcion explicando los verbos complejos en manera facil de comprender.

3.Listen to music in Spanish. Until I began to learn Spanish I thought that Tejano was the only Spanish music in existence. There is actually lots and lots of good Spanish music. Santana is by far my favorite artist and Aventura is my favorite group. I suggest The Essential Santana and Todavía Me Amas: Lo Mejor de Aventura (Deluxe Edition)

Escucha música en español. Antes de empezar a aprender español, pensaba que el Tejano era la única música en castellano que había en existencia. Realmente hay un montón de buena música español. Santana es mi artista favorita y Aventura es mi grupo favorito. Les sugiero The Essential Santana and Todavía Me Amas: Lo Mejor de Aventura (Deluxe Edition)



4.Watching movies. I have found that not only is it useful to watch movies in Spanish with subtitles in English it is also super helpful to watch movies in English with Spanish subtitles. Really listen and pay attention to the subtitles to compare and clarify translations as well as listen for correct pronunciation. If you like cult classics from independent filmmakers then check out Alejandro Jodorowski 3 Movie 7 Disc Pack (Fando & Lis, El Topo, La Cravate & The Howly Mountain PLUS El Topo & The Howly Mountain Soundtracks) [PAL/REGION 2 DVD. Import-Spain] For decades, in the United States, his films were banned.

Vean películas. He encontrado que no sólo es útil ver películas en español con subtítulos en inglés pero también es muy útil ver películas en inglés con subtítulos en español. Presten atención y realmente escuchen los subtítulos para comparar y aclarar las traducciones así para la pronunciación correcta. Si te gusta clásicos de culto de cineastas independientes entonces Echale un vistazo Alejandro Jodorowski 3 Movie 7 Disc Pack (Fando & Lis, El Topo, La Cravate & The Howly Mountain PLUS El Topo & The Howly Mountain Soundtracks) [PAL/REGION 2 DVD. Import-Spain] Durante décadas, en los Estados Unidos, sus películas fueron prohibidas.



5.I carried around a ziplock sandwich baggie in my pocket or purse all the time when I was in Latin America. In it I kept a stack of small index cards. In my purse I always carried ink pens in a variety of colors. When I encountered a new word I wanted to learn I wrote it down on an index card. I also used them for quick referencing the words I was focusing on remembering as well as making verb charts. Different colored cards and pens were for organizing different kinds of words. Keeping cheatsheet notes around for studying whenever I had a spare moment was a huge booster.

Cuando estaba en América Latina cargaba una bolsa de plástico ziploc sandwich en mi bolsillo o mi cartera todo el tiempo. Ahi guardaba una pila de fichas pequeñas y en mi cartera siempre llevaba plumas de tinta de varios colores. Cada vez que me encontré con una palabra nueva que quería aprender, lo escribiría en una tarjeta de índice. También los utilizaba para convenientemente acceder a las palabras que priorice recordar, y al mismo tiempo para hacer tablas de verbos. Diferentes colores de tarjetas y plumas eran para simplificar diferenciar las clases de palabras. Fue una gran ayuda mantener notas cheatsheet para estudiar cada vez que tenía tiempo libre.

6.Not to far from my home where I was living when I was first taking Spanish classes there was a weekend open air market that caters to the Mexicans. Many times I went shopping, not caring that I stood out, mostly to practice Spanish. Most of the vendors spoke no English. It was great practice to just talk about the products or the weather. During this learning period I kept an open mind to places I could immerse myself in for the language experience such as carnicerias (butcher shop) and used tire shops.

No lejos de mi casa donde vivía mientras recién había comenzado clases de Español hubo un fin de semana de mercado al aire que abastece a la cultura ** mexicana **. Muchas veces iba de compras, sin importarme que yo estaba fuera de lugar, todo para practicar español. La mayoría de los vendedores no hablaban inglés. Fue excelente práctica poder hablar de los productos y el clima. Durante este período de aprendizaje mantuve una mente abierta de cuáles lugares me podría sumergir en la experiencia de la lengua por ejemplo las carnicerías y tiendas de neumáticos usados.

7.Read Steemit blogs in Spanish such as @anahilarski

_Leer blogs de Steemit en español como los de @anahilarski




8.Teach English. My local library has a program to teach English to Spanish speakers. The teachers are all volunteers. This was a huge help to me.

Enseñen Inglés. Mi biblioteca local tiene un programa para enseñarles Inglés a los hablantes de español. Los maestros son todos voluntarios. Esto fue de gran ayuda para mí.



9.Communicate with new Latin friends through Facebook messenger regularly.

Comuniquese seguido con tus nuevos amigos latinos a través de Facebook.

10.Fall in love with a Latin who speaks no English.

Enamórate de un local que no sepa nada de inglés.




Do you have some tricks for learning a new language? I would love to hear your ideas and experiences.




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55336.50
ETH 2312.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33