You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it Rude to Comment Without Upvoting?

in #life7 years ago

I'm relatively new myself even though I started back in 2017. I was on pregnancy hiatus and just now coming back.

As for commenting without upvoting, I don't think that's rude. My upvote is mine to give based on what I believe in:

  1. is it a good post? is it helpful? meaningful?
  2. did it make me laugh? make me think?
  3. is it "profitable"?

So based on what you came for you can upvote however you want. Comments - I don't really want to read a one liner that's not meaningful or are really helpful. Btw, comments are in itself a post too. So you can upvote your comments and other's comments however you like.

Note the "profitable" is #3 because, heck why are we creating content for steemit? We like to create content and if it reaches the right audience get paid for it!

My husband also figured out that you can still give someone a 100% upvote when your voting power is >= 80% So for us with low upvote $ value, I'd like to give it to a very good post.

One of these days we'll have that coveted slider so we can adjust our voting power.

Sort:  

@lovenfreedom Thanks for weighing in. I guess I'm just so trained to "like" posts that I was feeling almost rude not doing it, but now I'm realize that those 'likes' (referring to the social media site which will not be named, lol) have become like paper money-meaningless and that is why they had to come up with other more volatile reactions, like love, hate, sad and wow! It's almost the equivalent of printing more money to pump up the system. Like maybe they realized the 'Like' was losing its value and they had to pump new emoticons into the system so people would start reacting more! And then people started craving those reactions more! It's such a cycle!
And folks here, most anyway, understand that and are here for more than just the upvote! We're here to co-create, right? To experience connections via the things which we hold dear and also via people we've connected and with and perhaps even become virtual friends with! @coruscate just did a really nice d-tube post about this and I think it would be fitting to share here. https://steemit.com/steemit/@coruscate/2m5ahijb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66882.49
ETH 2597.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71