Wakeup Call

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In a world of cruelty, abuse, slaughter, and despair, it is often times incredibly difficult to remain hopeful. I was recently given a wakeup call by someone who I respect greatly. This conversation had begun because I made the bold statement, which I often do, that I do not want to bring a child into this world. It is too horrible and I simply cannot protect them from it. So he said I am in the “hopeless stage” of enlightenment. After learning the truths of the meat and dairy industry, the poisons in our air, food, and water, Hollywood propaganda, and oh so much more, I guess I had let all the negativity dim my positive light.
So instead of asking myself questions like “What’s the point?” and “What is to come of all these terrible things?”, I decided to change my mindset.
What’s the point? To make yourself the best version of you possible. To improve on what you learn and do your part in solving the problems of society brought to your attention. To communicate, learn, teach, grow, and make an impact.
What is to come of all these terrible things? Every bad thing learned is an opportunity to make it better. We are the world and the world needs our help. By each individual waking up to the bad aspects of our world, we can come together to fix them. Veganism has always served as a great example. If you don’t like the way living things are being treated in this world, do your part to fix it! You have the power to make a conscious decision to not support the negativity of this world. This serves true for every issue.
Make you the best version of you. Make yourself healthy- workout, eat right, and surround yourself with good people- and do it for the right reasons. Make yourself happy- do things you love, spend your free time doing something positive that makes you smile, and don’t let the little things in life bring you down. Make yourself great and know that there is ALWAYS room for improvement.
These are things I had to teach myself all over again when I realized how negative I had become. These are things that I have to teach myself everyday because we are all still learning.
The importance of your thoughts are underrated. Thoughts generate action- and action is what keeps the world turning. Keep thinking positive and keep doing positive.
‘Til next time friends,
Love and War

Sort:  

Congratulations @love.and.war! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66416.78
ETH 3082.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68