Easy Quick Hot Fire For Cooking

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Cooking Fire

Need a quick hot fire for cooking when out in the bush? Find a nice round log size, depends on how big you need the fire. I think people call it a Swedish candle. It is easy to build and you will have a functional fire with minimal effort and fuel.

Check out a quick video here >Video on DTube

If anyone knows how to embed Dtube to posts please let me know in the comments below, I have tried a few of the how to's and none work

General Steps

  1. Split the log vertically into 4 quarters.
  2. Arrange the logs back into place and;
  3. Tie the log with wire a towards the bottom end of the logs.
  4. At the top end of the logs, separate the top of the quarters such that you can fit paper, light leaves, coconut husks and a bit of kindling (small chips of wood or twigs).
  5. Light the paper or whatever it is you stuffed in there.
  6. have beer and wait for the quarters to catch. Doesn't take long 10-15 min
  7. Cook fish heads.

IMG_20171124_175746.jpg

I didn't have a round log, or wire therefore had to improvise, I used 3 logs pushed together and held in place with rocks. This would have worked a lot better if I had split the log myself and the pieces fitted neater, however the principle works the same.

IMG_20171124_175833.jpg

Once the logs catch, you will have a jet of flames at the top and plenty of heat for cooking.

IMG_20171124_182741.jpg

I used a hot plate over the flames resting on the wood candle. It would be better if I supported this slightly above the flames with rocks or branches. I used rocks and other logs to regulate the heat by blocking and unblocking the air gaps on the sides of the wood candle.

IMG_20171124_183750.jpg

Then before you know it dinner is ready, and you will have enough energy to cook more and boil some water for tea or just keep a little warmer. It is quite efficient use of the wood because the heat is concentrated at the top where you need it. If you are trying to keep warm a traditional fire will radiate more heat as opposed to concentrating it. It does not require copious amounts of paper and kindling to ignite the logs and will be going in a bout 15 minutes.

LB

Sort:  

Excellent post. If in a place with some rocks, you can make a half circle of stones with a few that allow for a cooking plate read as well. I once came upon a half circle of stones in a region I hunt, quite remote, where I could tell a hunter had been able to make a very small fire and cook his food there.

I'm not a pyro but...how good is fire? I reckon I would have been a very miserable cave man prior to the domestication of fire. :)

This is great. I'll have to give this method a try. I go canoe tripping every summer, and I bring a propane burner to be safe incase of rainy weather. I'd like to get off of it, but it's just so convenient after a full days paddle haha.. But it would sure save on weight leaving the mini propane tanks at home. Cheers @louisbettong

yeah, you can actually makes these out of quite small logs and concentrate the heat for an efficient, quick cook.

That's a good fire champ, and I know my fires! Been making them since I was a kid! Thanks for your post.

Thank you for breaking it down step by step @louisbettong! Seen this before always wondered how well it worked. Looks like it works pretty good for you!

yeah it did the job, would have been better if i had split it from the same log

excellent idea - I will try it next time im out hunting.

good if you don't want to use too much wood

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29