A Tragic Start To 2018

in #life7 years ago

rose-234483_1280.jpg

12 years old is too young to lose a parent. I knew that when it happened to me all those years ago, and I certainly know it now. The impact it had on me completely shattered my emotional state and left me with only fear and anger and no way to control it.
This past Wednesday my partner and I had to tell her 12-year-old daughter that her father had died.
He had been missing the week before and she knew this, but was not prepared to hear this news. She knew we wanted to talk to her about her father but she was so optimistic, thinking that he was found injured or ran away or something. As I broke the news to her the smile on her face, the optimism, instantly turned into the same deep, crushing pain that I remember so well from my childhood. It felt surreal. No one should have to feel the way she feels right now.

We are raising funds to take her to the funeral service, which is quite far from us and we don’t have a lot of time to figure it out. My partner has started a GoFundMe page for her to go if anyone feels inclined to share it we would be very grateful. The link is here.
I hope that we can help this poor girl hang on to what is left of her childhood. This is the second death in her family this year. Her great uncle who was sick for quite some time died a few weeks ago. They were very close and his death has been very hard on her as well.
It has been a rough start to our year. We will soldier on, as always. We know we are not alone!

Again, thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Sadly, I am lostinthewoods

Sort:  

Thank you all for for your kind responses! This is such an amazing community. We can feel your support and we are very thankful!

I'm sorry for what your partner's daughter is suffering right now. My kids were about a decade older when their father died unexpectedly, and it was still very hard on them.

times are hard for those with heart.
in time all things are to depart.

This is all sad. I know how losing someone dear at a tender age can be. My condolences to her. God keep her heart strong.

I'm sorry for everything your partner's daughter is going through. :'( Thanks for sharing this with the community so we can help get her to where she needs to be.

My condolences to her and everyone.

Hi, friend...
You are very good at joining steemit and you are very good at making posts, this time I just ask for your attention to visit my post.

I am so sorry to hear this. Do you a date for the funeral yet?

We were just informed that the funeral is on Thursday so we need to leave on Monday or Tuesday. The service is in Alberta and we are driving so i need to do some maintenance on the truck this weekend. I wish we had more time...

At 12 she has not even seen the world properly. Very young to lose her parent. My condolences to her. I personally know the pain of losing a parent. Sometimes age doesn't matter in these cases. Loved one is always a loved one. This is the ugly truth of life.

I cant imagine what she is going through and what you have been as well. Its shattering. My condolences to her and the family. Safe travels.

That's the worst news a child can get. She's fortunate, at least, in having such a kind soul who has been through this too, and can understand what she's going through. Best wishes to you both in this sad time.

It's really sad , i'm sorry to hear that , keep moving forward and we are care about you

This is really very unfortunate, my dear brother @lostinthewoods I wish you this sad time. I hope to stand with your partner in this difficult situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60327.79
ETH 2348.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53