Is it worth it to give up my job just to be with my first child,when my job is mainly for his future?

in #life8 years ago

Hi! I'm Loren.I am newbie here and to be honest I'm not that good at any computer-related thing because I'm not interested before, I don't know but maybe because of my profession? ( i'm here trying to convince myself that i'm normal,haha) but since my husband introduced this steemit, I immediately fell in love with the concept,so while he is patiently teaching me all about this amazing steemit (which probably take a week/month/year for me to learn haha) I can't stop myself posting my story hoping that I will inspire other steemians especially moms out there.
I’m a nurse. I love my job. I worked for 8 months as a volunteer nurse, and 2 years as a staff nurse in the Philippines. Being a nurse is one of the most interesting profession I know, since I've got the chance to touches other lives from birth to death. It always amazes me to deal with different diseases that I never imagine existed. Aside from that, it's really my passion to serve other people. But since I have the obligation to help my family and 127 USD salary/ month is not enough for them, I decided to go abroad. I went to Riyadh,KSA. I didn’t get high salary compared to other nurses but still,it took me 3 & 1/2 years before I resigned. I lend from the bank to finance family business, thinking that if they have everyday income of their own, I can get the chance to save money for me. But unfortunately after a couple of months of my loan, something happened, an outbreak of MERS (Middle East Respiratory Syndrome) arises. Since that time there's no cure or vaccine for that, I decided to go back home ( I can't die yet ,my family still needs me-haha) During that time I haven't finish my loan yet. I can apply emergency exit, without telling the bank I can run from it like most of the expatraite are doing since the bank is insured and as per policy the government will pay them. But I didn’t do that, because I don't want sleepless nights and I believe in "karma". So I ask my mother to borrow money from the Philippines and I paid the bank and went home. Obviously it's not a good journey, but I didn't regret it, because in that place I met my 2 years online boyfriend and now my beloved husband (lucky me!)
Due to high competency of nurses, it took me 8 months to find another opportunity abroad. I'm currently working here in Oman for 1 & 1/2 years. Every month I'm paying my debt (the money that I used to pay for my loan in KSA and the expenses for my application here in Oman). Oh! by the way my family sell the passenger van that I gave for business :( The reason? (another story) .
As of now I have 7 months remaining to clear all my debts but I have only 2 months after that, to save money for my baby. I can't renew or let us say I don't want to renew, since I can't imagine my life being far away from my first son .I'm 6 1/2 months pregnant now (thanks God!).Since my company will not give resident visa for my baby because I am female and they're only giving resident visa under father's name (unfair huh!) me and my husband decided not to renew my contract :( . After my contract on April 2017, I will go back home for good.
When I'm not pregnant yet, I planned to stay here for 3 years. After 1 year and 10 months of paying my debt at least I have 1 year and 2 months to save for my future family, enough time to build our own house and enough money to start a business so I can settle at home with my family. But life is unpredictable, we can always plan for our future, but if it is not God's plan, it will never happen. I love my son. He's the best thing that happened into my life and I can give up everything for him, but since this job (a well-compensated job )is mainly for him.I'm always thinking if someday my son will be proud of me that I gave up my job for him?

Sort:  

Upvoted

Congratulations @lorena! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.0 and reading ease of 76%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53