A Raft In The Ocean Of Life?

in #life7 years ago

He sat and looked at me with keen interest. He was impressed with everything I was saying, my personality and the way I analyse things and situations. He was about to offer me a life long career, then he asked one last question

  • What are you really passionate about in life? That thing you would never allow to be taken from you? Deep within you, do you think you'll be happy after spending 35 years down this particular career?

Now lets pause there a little, am sure you are wondering what the story is all about. Well that was me at an interview with a firm I would have done everything (well, not quite everythinglittle, but you understand) to work with. So what the heck now? You may asked!! Well, Its was in the wrong department, wrong career path from what I wanted.

I had applied to work with them as a graduate associate and had indicated interest in management consulting but when an opening came out for tax adviser and I was invited, I quickly accepted the invitation because to find job in this country, my dear, is hard enough and bills had to be paid. I performed well in the two interviews and was just having some chit chat interview the manager before I walk in through the door.

Before this time I was a perfect opportunistic decision maker often times dissing my happiness and passion just because the opportunity looks profitable. Most people are like that. My passion and interest was in management consulting but just so I could foot the bills and have a job I rushed to accept an offer as a tax adviser - a career path I know was never in my heart. But after the partner asked those questions, I paused, something happened to me and that's why am sharing this today.

IMG_20170723_093627.jpg
It suddenly hit me hard that though I could do well in this job, but for how long will I maintain my energy fighting an internal war when I know its Monday morning again. After awhile my productivity would be draining, creativity would likely not improve cause my heart and soul is somewhere else.
2766703_S.png

This is the challenge we have in the society today. Many people are in the wrong place, wrong relationship, wrong job, just because they were opportunist. Before you accept any choice, ask yourself the questions above, relate it to what you are about to do and if the answer you will have in 35years does not support the choice, then don't.
908743_M.png

This day was a great day for myself, I actually became a reborn of myself, I choose the path want to follow, study to show myself approved and skilled path, and aim to improve everyday. Sometimes, what we want, what we are passionate about looks unattainable, I don't let that scare me, and so should you. Take out time to study, experiment and improve on it. With enough desire and energy no mountain is to high to climb, only learn how and where to place your feet.

So back to my little story, what do you think I did. Well, with this questions, I looked inward into my life and listened to my inner voice. The voice is always there, you may call it guts, feelings, Holy spirit, instinct - whatever you call it does not matter. So I listened to mine, then I stood up, thanked the manager, I told him I'll go back and work for an opening in what I know I will be happy when leaving the house on Monday morning to the office.

In the ocean of life, don't just be a raft tossed about by the current. choose your path, study your direction, get the right tool box, set on and when the tides changes, adjust your sail, find direction and continue moving towards your destination.
800px-Thomas_Chambers_-_Storm-Tossed_Frigate.jpg Image source

Thanks for reading. Your views, opinions and contributions are welcomed in the comment box. And if you think others need to read this, click resteem. Have a beautiful day, cheers.

image credit: Pixabay

Original @lordjames

Sort:  

So true most us use our energies in the wrong things, if only we could ponder our decisions now as to our future, it might come handy in maKng better decicions

Inspiring... another beautiful write-up from you.

It's a nice piece. Your admonitions are well articulated. Thank you for bringing this message

Accurately observed and well delivered @lordjames....never knew what I've been missing out

If you observe diligently at any thing in your life you will modify it the way you want it. Nice write up its inspiring and full of wisdom. @lordjames

You are always good with words.

This post received a 1.327 SBD (14.55%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @lordjames! For more information, check out my profile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55