Don't cower your eyes - Teen depression IS real

in #life8 years ago

Lately I've seen a lot of people downtalk kids who shared their stories about being depressed or other mental health issues. People think that they are just seeking attention by self diagnosing these horrible conditions.

The truth

We as humans are very quick to jump to conclusions, because one of our biggest fears is the fear of the unknown. That's why it's so easy for teens to say that they're depressed every time they're feeling down, but that's also why it's easy for other people to say that they aren't.

According to www.webmd.com 1 out of 8 teens IS suffering from depression.

I know it might be hard to think about that - how can the number be so big ?
They're living the happiest part of their lives !

That's 12,5% of all kids.

Don't jump to conclusions, please.

I know that might be easier said than done, but at the very least, keep them to yourself. Depressed people have a lot to fight, without people putting them down.

You might think that it's not possible for so many to have issues like that, because in your days no one seemed depressed, you only remember happy kids playing games and whatnot. That might be true, but it also might be the fact that todays kids are more open about their feelings, or that this age is more down-putting..

The age we live in

My mom once told me that she wouldn't want to be growing up in this age. Everything is measured in money. The value of products, animals, countries, memories and even people. So if you're a kid that's not from a particularly wealthy family and you're constantly bombarded by ads and people that brag about their wealth and you aren't able to do anything about it, you'll start feeling worthless and useless over time.

That's one of the reasons gambling sites secretly target teens - the vision of immense riches without any work.

"I don't care."

A phrase we hear so many times each and every day that it sounds like this ages catchphrase.
A phrase that looks so innocent, but is actually horrible.
A phrase that signalizes a complete loss of motivation/ will to live / will to care.

A friend of mine started doing very bad in school, he didn't even attend classes. I told him he's going to fail the year if he doesn't stop it. He told me "I don't care anymore.", he told me his mother was crying, because he was doing so bad and he stared at her and was very surprised that he didn't care at all, he told me that he didn't care about anything. He told me that he once stared out the window and thought: "Maybe I should jump, everything would be better, but my window's probably too low , I'd only cripple myself."

Inevitably, he failed the year. Sadly there's not much you can do for a guy like that, you can only be there to listen to what they are ready to tell you. They aren't looking for guidance, just for an ear ready to hear them out. You can only show them you've been there and offer a perspective they perhaps didn't see.

Take a moment to look around you.

Take a moment to look around you, perhaps there is someone going through a struggle you didn't even think about, perhaps there is someone who could use an ear willing to listen, perhaps there is someone who needs you.

Sort:  

I was depressed a lot as a teenager. Thanks for upvoting my content. Upvoted.

Oh hey, thanks for checking mine out haha :)

IMHO, 21st age is not particularly bad, given that about half a century ago to hit a kid was considered as a "normal" upbringing practice.

I'd say that people who hit their kids before would still hit them today. Even if they didn't we still live in an age where physical violence is replaced by psychological abuse which can cause much more damage.

i completely agree. i am a teen and i've been diagnosed with depression three times by three different psychologists, yet my mother believes that i just have "teenage mood-swings." she says almost every teen feels this way; but what she doesn't understand is how common depression is in teens.
thank you for writing this article.

I'm really sorry to hear that. I know what it's like to struggle alone, but always remember that most people don't know what it's like to be truly depressed - not even your family.
Thanks for your reply, I appreciate it :)

I didn't take some warning signs serious with my son. I wrote them off as teenage hormones and mood-swings. He didn't appear to be down for long periods of time and most times he seemed happy. It wasn't until he tried to kill himself that I realized that behind his happy face was a very sad boy.

If he didn't want you to know, there was no way you could have found out. People are very good at hiding their true feelings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57