Chapter II: Snowy Dreams

in #life7 years ago

Hello, steemit!

On this snowy Pennsylvania day:IMG_20171210_131422123.jpg

Yes, I know, it's not nearly that terrible looking; but it is cold and it did keep me from seeing my boyfriend yesterday. It is the first snowfall of the season. Anyways, I want to throw it back and recall something known as the Blizzard of 2017.

Set the scene: Mid-March 2017: I had been back in the area for 2 weeks. Prior, I had lived in the northwest for three years and took my time getting back - visiting friends in Iowa and family in Ohio. But, here I was, back in northeastern PA. I was excited because I had escaped winter...or so I had thought.

Mid-March came and with it 30 inches of snow. IMG_20170314_185034437_HDR.jpg
Snowmageddon hit and boy was it unpleasant.

IMG_20170315_134318115.jpg
Here's a picture of my car.

IMG_20170315_165831022 (2).jpg
And a picture of Zoe enjoying the snow! Whenever it snows, we don't tie her up outside and just let her prance about on her own. She usually comes back pretty quickly - even though she doesn't listen very well. (Also, in this picture, she's not actually enjoying the snow. I watched for a while after I snapped this picture and she was just trying to find an adequate place to poop.)

Sort:  

When I clicked on this post... I was already saying to myself that I super super super hope there is a dog photo in here.... and ta da! So good!

Why did the weather stop you from seeing your boyfriend yesterday? Is he snow coloured? Hahaaaaaaaaa.... sorry.

Haha! You're hilarious! :p I live an hour from him. The roads were awful around me. (probably not around him because he lives in a populated, lower elevation area) - but it wasn't worth my life over. I went the day I posted this entry, and the roads around me were still utter shit (PennDOT, you're....the...best...) But once I was like 20 min from home, the roads cleared up.

I guess that's the cost of living in all the serenity. We moved from downtown where I could walk everywhere to a little forest farm where we can't see any neighbours and walking to the letterbox is a mission.... We're super excited and a bit nervous about any snowfall we might get. It's going to look so pretty but we're going to be so trapped. Oregon loves to turn all the snow to ice.... what a guy.

A forest farm? Please tell me in the summer you'll be a fantastic gardener! (Summer is almost here!)

That's the plan!

I've never gardened, I have no experience outside of living in apartments and townhouses all my adult life... but I am ready to grow my own food and hopefully get off the grid and try and become a self-sustaining respectable member of this planet.

I'm in Wisconsin right at this moment and summer is not almost here. Did some icy snowy skids in the car because supercold driving is not something Australians get a lot of practice with...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.28
ETH 3556.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14