19/365

in #life6 years ago (edited)

2018 has already been an interesting year filled with heartbreak and promise. We're 19 days into the "new year" and I've already gotten the feeling that I wish it was 2019 already. I still believe 2018 is going to be a good year, but... well, here's my first 19 days:

First, as I have mentioned already, I got kicked out of the house I was staying at over Christmas and I had until the 5th to get out. I got the boot because I couldn't fully commit to being able to stay where I was -- I was awaiting word from the USPS about whether or not and when I would get hired on. Our government never has worked in the most efficient ways, and I don't know why the person whom I was living with (my dad) didn't understand that. So, I moved to central Pennsylvania and got a job working catering for a college. I'm not really one for catering; actually, I think I hate it. But, I met some fine, fine people and have had a great mentor and partner in crime from one of my co-workers. I expect we shall be penpals for a long while.

I got the call for the USPS job last week. I'll be starting training on the 29th of January. This means that I have to move back to near where I was living, but I'm going to live in NY state, instead. The job is located in Sullivan County, NY, one of the prettiest counties I know of! Moving again is going to suck because I don't know anyone in Sullivan County anymore so I don't have anywhere to crash until I get my apartment set up. I'm going to try to go up on the 27th and take a look around and see what's up.

Second, my boyfriend is now in Oklahoma and I don't know if he's going to be coming back to PA or the East Coast. I don't know when I'm going to see him again. And, while I do believe we're strong and we're going to make it through all the long distance, it's still difficult to be without him. He really lights me up and makes me more ambitious. He's taking some fancy welding test that not many welders get asked to go do. So, I'm pretty proud of him!! I suppose if I hate the USPS job (which I don't see myself doing), after a year, I'll put away the uniform, and just start following him across the country with his welding jobs. We shall see. We had one last hurrah last night into this morning as I'm located on the way to Oklahoma. Honestly, I'm pretty crazy about him. I've definitely fallen so very hard for him. It has only been a few months of us being together but it feels like we've been together for years. He's amazing.

Third, I've saved the saddest bit of news for last. Last night I got a phone call from my father saying that Zoe, my dear sweet precious pupper, has passed on. She's gone to pupper heaven and I'm so heartbroken about it. It was very, very unexpected -- she was supposed to come live with me in NY in a few weeks' time! :( She might have gotten hit by a car, but she was found on the road dead, but looked normal. I guess I'll never know what happened. She was my best friend. Humans always failed me and she was always there. I'm thankful I got to see her last weekend when I stopped by with my boyfriend. She was my favourite adventure partner. She was always down for a ride or a walk or a snuggle next to me. But now she's in heaven with my mum and probably biting mumzy just like she did in real life. I love you, Zoe xoxo.

Anyways, very eventful start of 2018. I'm hoping the rest of 2018 has no heartache and it quiets down a bit.

Sort:  

Nawwwwww, thats so much sad! Poor lil Zoe... I'm a little heartbroken.... she was such a beautiful pup. I'm so sorry!!

Wait... so it was your Dad that gave you two weeks to move out at Christmas time? That's so hardcore... I just assumed it was some faceless landlord. Ah, wow, drama.

We've done the long distance thing twice... once for 10 months and once for 6 months. .. it's hard, but there are some benefits. When you are together it is super amazing... and I dunno, chatting on the phone late at night is such a deeper convo than the usual stuff you talk about when you live with someone. .. we definitely grew stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66227.96
ETH 3571.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14