You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Tiny Homes Really All That Feasible?

in #life7 years ago

As a teenager I was sad to find that having my own tiny detached home would be impossible due to regulations, making financial independence much harder to achieve. A studio apartment on a high floor with a beautiful view might be a good compromise. Good luck with your fascinating search. I love tiny dwellings! Houseboats and camper trailers are other possibilities.

Sort:  

Yes I am leaning toward a studio apt myself. :) I just need to find out where is the lowest rent without being a really awful place to live. hehe

My favorites are a beach front studio or a tall condo building with an awe-inspiring view of skyscrapers. But if low rent is crucial, try to find an older building in an expensive neighborhood. I found one in Houston that was going to be torn down in about a year so the rent was very low. But I was able to eat all my meals from free samples given out by the gourmet grocery store nearby. Another possibility is a tiny separate guest house behind a mansion. Some of these are really reasonable. Happy hunting!

there are people with guest homes beside mansions that rent them out!? :O

Indeed! I found a whole street of these in Pasadena, California in a very wealthy neighborhood called Arroyo Canyon. The little guest houses were far back from the street, in a wooded environment overlooking the canyon. Many millionaires need a responsible person to be a kind of housesitter while they are gone on vacation or business trips, or while they travel to properties they have in other countries. The important thing is to show them that you are reliable and trustworthy. You don't need to have much money. Sometimes they will pay you to housesit. Another possibility is to rent a bedroom in a mansion. Try networking at the neighborhood golf club.

Hm.... I dont know that I would mingle well with really rich people with all my tattooes and piercings and dreadlocks of crazy colors. They often assume I am an irresponsible loser and I'd rather not have to kiss ass to get on their good side. Don't like the idea of house sitting either. XD Perhaps some shitty studio apt in a shabby neighborhood should be my new goal. :) Very interesting though. I never knew arrangements like that were common.

An intelligent person would think that tattooes and piercings and dreadlocks are signs of being young and hip, up with the latest fashions. I dress to please myself. I guess the most important thing is to find a place that feels like home. You will know it when you see it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62284.56
ETH 2424.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58