Budapest's Museum of Applied Arts

in #life7 years ago

I spent the last month traveling - well, I've been to Budapest and some Hungarian villages, and Iceland - Reykjavik and Akureyri. There's nothing quite like finding yourself in a new city - walking the streets, recognizing the familiar, common points among people, and discovering the unknown, never-seen-before. I spent only a few days in Budapest, and I was on a mission - to find some Adidas shoes for my friend in Iceland, since the prices there are insane. I couldn't find the shoes, but the search took me to the other side of the city, and I walked all the way back, sunny July afternoon. Budapest is a gem of Middle Europe architecture - it's impressive, but not quite my style.

There was one building that caught my eye - shielded in the green, lit from the back by the afternoon sun.

1.jpg

2.jpg

The building belongs to Art Nouveau style, while the interior was done in Hindu, Islamic and Mogul designs. It was built between 1893 and 1896 and was designed by Ödön Lechner.

I was drawn to its shapes, and decided to sneak a peak.

13.jpg

It turned out to be the Museum of Applied Arts! Now, even though I graduated from an art school, I was never the one to enjoy exhibitions and museums. Something about it just always seemed artificial and fake to me. But I really wanted to see the interior of this building, so I bought the ticket for something called In the Mood for Colors, an exhibition that sounded the least pretentious.

The interior was ~beautiful~. White and arched, sun going in from the roof.

50.jpg

9.jpg

8.jpg

11.jpg

18.jpg

17.jpg

Beautiful windows let in the view of the interior sides of the building as well.

7.jpg

15.jpg

The exhibition consisted of the artifacts of the museum displayed in groups according to their color. The first part of the exhibition was a color mirror, an installation that matches your colors to one of the artifacts exhibited.

40.jpg

My color was red - of course. I got matched with a beautiful red vase.

39.jpg

2017_07_05_16_53_350471.png

That's me!

51.jpg

All in all, the exhibition was pretty cool. I liked that it displayed actual objects that were in actual use, and the color schematics was also a pretty fun yet simple way to present them.

Here's some green:

22.jpg

23.jpg

27.jpg

20.jpg

And some blue:

28.jpg

My favorite, red:

29.jpg

I feel in love with this red vase for palm trees:

30.jpg

31.jpg

In the end, I was quite happy that the only building I actually really liked was also a home to such a cool exhibition - it was probably one of the first enjoyable experiences I had in a gallery, aside from those exhibitions where you just go to get drunk and socialize.

Some beautiful shots of the entrance for the conclusion:

49.jpg

47.jpg

46.jpg

Yep, that's my head right there. Hope you enjoyed this post, thank you for reading and upvoting and please stick around for more from Icelanddd - which has the best nature ever!

Sort:  

Really great post! It's like a virtual walk through.

Upvoted!

Thanks a lot!

Good photo👍 @lonilush

Congratulations @lonilush! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80