I started a vegetable garden

in #life6 years ago

I've always wanted to grow my own food but didn't really think about doing it until I saw some videos by @projectdiaries and saw how easy it looked. So I started by taking some bits of potato I had cut up while making dinner one night and left 'em in the kitchen for a few days. I kind of forgot about it, until I threw them all in a pot with some soil a week or two later. Didn't have many expectations of them growing before I left on a trip. I asked the neighbor to watch over everything, which normally includes watering the plants and whatnot.

When I got back, the moderately sized pot I had was exploding with potato plants. Which surprised the hell out of me. The large ones were easily a foot tall from root to leaf. So I ended up deciding that the pot was way too small for that many plants, and replanted them in a sectioned off area in my backyard I wanted to use for gardening. Sadly I didn't take photos, because at the time I wasn't sure if they'd live through all the insects who divebombed the plants. Munching the leaves off like old cartoon characters eating corn on the cob.

However, I decided to move them out of the hole I ended up digging, into multiple pots. Which maybe took an hour or two to do all of them. I did manage to start getting pictures after I had done all this work, however. Especially one of the now pointless hole I had dug.

20180516_145324.jpg

It was on the opposite side of the fence as the main backyard, which is mostly why I wanted to plant everything there. The sticks I used as supports are still all around. Which did seem to help until the plants started wilting. Surprisingly though, as I uprooted them they had already started growing potatoes. Which has me optimistic still. I took almost all of the empty pots I had lying around and started filling them up with dirt and replanting the taters. Trying to space them out as much as possible, and give them room to grow.

20180516_145239.jpg

There's a ton of holes on these ones, and there's a lot just underneath the soil that I'm waiting to see if they die or not. I have hopes they'll perk up now that they're not being devoured by bugs. They also have a long ways to grow before I have to start adding significant amounts of soil. I'm not too optimistic about the ones that are already yellow, so maybe they'll just become fertilizer for the others. The smaller plants seem to be doing much better, I think mainly because the leaves are too small and too thick to be munched on. There's also a ton of them, so I had to fill as many small pots as possible. Which was oddly a fun task, moving all these tiny little baby plants around.

20180516_145310.jpg

20180516_145317.jpg

I've given them enough space that they should all at least start growing sprouts, or keep growing if they already have sprouted. So if they die, that pot can be replanted. If they keep growing I can track their progress and repot, or replant them when needed. Which at the rate they've grown over my month away may be pretty soon actually. I mentioned while I was replanting them I noticed they had started growing little taters already. As I was doing so, some of the bigger of the little taters fell off. Which leads to a pretty adorable first "harvest".

20180516_145406.jpg

I apologize for it being blurry. These little taters are about the size of dimes or nickels. I can't make anything out of them, which goes without saying. But hopefully If I leave them alone for a bit of time maybe they'll start sprouting eyes. Though I may be wrong, so if anyone knows if this is true or not, let me know in the comments below. I'll try to post updates on this project every monday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72