How it's like living with Cleft Lip: A POV of life from a guy who has Cleft lip.

in #life6 years ago

Hey steemers! Warning: Long Post Ahead.

First of all, this is the very first time i am opening up about this point of view and steemit is the very first platform i'm sharing it to, not because i ran out of things to share but because only a few knows who i am in this platform so it won't be too public on my behalf. And of course this is to share and hope to inspire people. This post could also be an awareness to all, that we should always be sensitive to other people because we do not know what battle they're fighting.

FB_IMG_1520790912519.jpg
So what is a cleft lip?Cleft lip is an inborn condition where the lips, the palate and in extreme cases the nasal system looks completely destroyed. Cleft lip commonly comes with palate so it usually is Cleft lip and palate, luckily for me i only got the cleft lip so i can speak normally. Or am i really lucky? People who do not know me would come to an assumption that i also have the palate and that would make them think that i couldn't talk clearly.

FB_IMG_1520790960071.jpg
Living a life with this condition is a silent struggle. People's eyes starts staring at you maybe wondering what could have happened to my lips. Kid's pointing at your face laughing at you, mocking you. And girls with a face of disappointment when they realize that you only look normal from afar. Establishments rejecting you because they judged you before knowing what your capabilities are. This is an almost everyday scenario for us. Insecurities creeps into our minds, thinking what if? what if i look normal, what if i don't have this. The cruel world is decreasing my esteem towards myself. I couldn't even lift my chin up high while walking alone, knowing that people might stare at me. IT'S HARD!

FB_IMG_1520791151771.jpg
If it wasn't for my family who first taught me how to at least have confidence in myself.

FB_IMG_1520791186312.jpg

FB_IMG_1520791179803.jpg
If it wasn't for my friends who saw the good in me despite of my defect. If I hadn't known GOD who gave me enough mental strength to be able to withstand the pressure of the world. I would have taken my own life. But thanks to the support i got from family and friends, i was able to fight a worthy battle.

I am speaking in behalf of all the men and women who has the same condition as mine. I hope this inspired you to be nice always to people you pass by, because we do not know what chains they're trying to set free and what battles they are trying to win. Good Day.

Truly yours,
Arvill Vaz

FB_IMG_1520301551320.jpg

Sort:  

Its not something to be ashamed of. I have a friend who has this also but that doesnt hinder him to do the things he love. We really dont care about it. We see him just like us.

Joaquin Phoenix (one of my fave actors) is a cleft also. And so as Peyton Manning .

Thank you for your words of encouragement.. Thank you.

Hey Arvill. thanks man for sharing this story of yourself and the struggles of having that. It is really hard but yeah you are not alone in this battle. I know a folks which has some physical hindrance as well @ezraabas but he is really an awesome guy in Ohana he inspires a lot of us to be better. For sure you can definitely serve as an inspiration.

For the warning lost post ahead I think it is still a short read for me :)

O before I forgot for this wonderful story.

I nominated this post to be featured for our 65th Daily Steemit Family Ph Featured Posts.

To know the mechanics on how you can be nominated on the Steemit Family Featured Post and also get to know who made it on the 64th edition you can click this link.

Daily Steemit Family Ph Featured Posts #64

All the best!

Hey, thanks man :-) i really just wanted to share this and i'm so glad someone took time to read it and appreciate it. thank you very much. I also thought it's not as long as i thought it is haha. GOD Bless your soul brother. Thank you again. :-)

Hello there Ohana! You were featured on the #65th edition of steemitfamilyph's featured posts. Congratulations!

Wow thank you, Ohana. Thank you so much.

Hello there! I sense a goodness in your heart with your posts. That's all that matters!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43