Super Simple Vegetarian Falafel Recipe 🍽

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It has been entirely too long since I have shared a recipe post, I actually almost forgot how to make one. But since I’m clearly overdue for a post of any kind and really love to eat, I figured no time like the present.

So, today I want to share with you one of my favorite quick and easy meals.. and guess what? It’s healthy too 😱

Falafels!



43A6723E-6D6B-4C8F-B6AB-F313AF187C3A.jpeg


These lovelies are packed with fresh flavor and are really versatile. I personally love to just add them to a big green salad or put them inside some homemade pita bread with a bit of lettuce, tomato and tzatziki sauce. Or serve them alongside a hummus dip as an appetizer.. they are delicious no matter what.


Ingredients


  • 1 lb dry chickpeas/garbanzo beans
  • 1 small onion, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/8 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 3/4 cup flour or chickpea flour
  • 1 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

First things first
You have to use DRIED chickpeas, NOT canned. The canned ones just won’t work. So find yourself a bag of the dried variety (in the dried beans area.. yeah, that place is there. I promise 😉). Sort the beans/rinse, then put in a bowl and cover with water. You will want these to soak for about 6 hours or overnight. Then just drain, rinse and continue below!


Next
Throw everything except the flour into a food processor/blender and pulse until all smooth. You just want to make sure you don’t have any large chunks, once you see that consistency you are good to go.

6C1596E4-3E42-4F8B-963D-E2FF883AD279.jpeg


Then
Add in your flour and pulse until combined. Then just scoop out dough onto a floured surface and work to equally distribute the flour, until smooth. Cover and let cool in fridge for at least an hour.

883C244D-833A-46A3-93BB-1D8E320CA699.jpeg

Finally
Scoop out a spoonful of dough and form into a ball. Fry in preheated coconut oil (about 1/2 cup) in your cast iron skillet until golden brown on both sides (just a couple minutes).

993A9D7F-BD69-4981-B390-DE3006B62680.jpeg


And now you have falafels 🤤😋😍

49428311-3C97-4EAC-8BF9-664D1092B990.jpeg

What you do with them is up to you! These didn’t make it far.. just a bit of hummus with a cucumber and tomato salad. Simple and delicious. 😊


Hope you enjoy!

Much Love,

Justine

Sort:  

Oh those look so good! I would have those for breakfast too :)

Thank you!! And great idea! Now you have me brainstorming on how to incorporate these into breakfast, yum! ❤️

Excellent recipe, thanks for this Justine!
Yummy... this gives me ideas for a sandwich ! ;)
Peace Love and Healthiness
D

Thank you so much! Ohhh yes, I bet you could make an epic sandwich out of these! I’ll keep an eye out for it 😋
❤️

Now i'm hungry!
This piece is really good in the picture that I think I should also try it out soon...or will help my wife prepare this. Haha

Haha! I’m always hungry 😋. Thank you! I hope you guys enjoy them!

Yours are very light coloured. I thought for sure when I read the recipe I was gonna find that they had a ton of normal flour and they were some kind of falafel hush puppy hybrid.

Mine do have more flour than most recipes call for (which is normally a few tablespoons). I did this from trial and error.. just trying to get a texture I liked most. These are fluffy and similar to hush puppies in texture maybe. The flour could definitely be reduced, this is just my personal preference. These were the first batch.. coconut oil is light colored but as you fry more and more, they get a bit darker. So maybe they are some sort of a mutant, hybrid falafel 👀 I cant do anything normal hahha.

These look delicious!! I love chickpeas. I have re-steemed so I can find the recipe again. I plant to try this soon.

Thank you so much!! 🤗 I love them too, so good in so many different ways. I look forward to hearing how you like them. Thanks for the love ❤️

Oh..my...goodness.... I love falafel! My bride Stacie D,@freedomtowrite, has tried making falafel at home, but they were kinda dry. I love when she practices though haha. Being a vegan yeti, I eat by the pound and these do the trick! Be well.

These are perfect for you then! I found the flour does help with that dryness.. this recipe has more than most, it gives it more of a fluffy texture. And the soaking of the beans is key. Thank you 😊

I have to try these, they look so great and easy to prepare. I had a chickpea salad once and it was great. chickpeas are not very popular in Romania, Italians love them though. On my wishlist now, thanks for the recipe, have a nice weekend! :) And Happy New Year! :)Keep up the good work and steem on!!!

I’m a big fan of chickpeas, great way to add some good protein into a vegetarian dish. Another favorite is a Spanish style rice with chickpeas.. they are just good in everything! Thank you so much for the lovely comment, I really appreciate it! ❤️

I just love Falafels but have never made it myself, certainly does not sound so daunting so I will bookmark your post and try it soon! Lovely photos too.

I put off making them forever because I just assumed they were difficult. Glad I finally gave it a go, because they quickly became my favorite. I hope you enjoy and thank you so much!

Yum. Pick me

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you Dave! Throws falafels 😉

Hi @llfarms!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.788 which ranks you at #398 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 51 places in the last three days (old rank 449).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 209 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50