Mindf*ck, the book

in #life7 years ago

Hi there,

Today I survived the first day back to work. After a 3-week holiday. And I felt very sorry for myself.
An exploded inbox, cranky colleagues, and a computer that wouldn't work because of passwords that should have been changed somewhere during the previous weeks.

During my lunchbreak I felt the need to escape the office and look for something nice. And so I wandered off to a nearby bookshop to peak around.

I found a very interesting book about magic and critical thinking. It's written by a Dutch magician and doctor, named Victor Mids and Oscar Verpoort, a TV producer from the Netherlands. Together they produce a TV show called Mindf*ck.
All different kinds of tricks are performed on the show, and the scientific background of the mindfuck is explained. So is the book.

To train yourself in critical thinking, it's interesting to get more familiair with the ways in which your mind tricks you. Magicians are the best at that. Not only they are very fast, they also know a lot about disguise and the human brain.

What does a person notice, how can people be distracted while they are on top of something. I'm very curious what new things I can learn from the book.

In the first chapter a cardplay is explained. I already tricked my husband with that one. So funny to have a guineapig at home.

With another 100 tricks to go, I can cover loads of lunchbreaks. Hopefully my guineapigs at home and at work will survive too.

Let's see what a little magic can bring to my life... how about yours?! ;)

http://www.victormids.com/
image

Sort:  

Nice tip! I like those kinds​ of books. I want this book as well. Can I borrow your guineapig?

Congratulations @lizzymontagne! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44