Forgiveness: The Seed of Greatest Value

in #life6 years ago

This is by far the hardest seed to sow because it involves suffering. It wasn't until the Spirit of God taught me how to sow my sorrow as a seed that I found the greatest value in forgiveness. If we give our offenses; our pains and our hurts to God in the form of a seed, this allows us to sow in tears and reap a harvest of joy in our future.

The seed of forgiveness is dear to the heart of God. If we don't forgive, he won't forgive us; and even though this sounds severe, consider the price God had to pay to establish the initial seed of forgiveness in the earth. He gave his son to die so that we could be forgiven for having sinned against God. Jesus recognized the value of forgiveness as he hung on the cross and cried Father, forgive them for they know not what they do.

My greatest seed of forgiveness was sown when my son was kidnapped by his dad. I expected that God would hasten to rescue my son from this evil man; but the opposite was true. God reminded me that he was "in control" of my life. Then he asked if I could give my only son the way he gave his only son. I was stunned at this question; and yet I knew that this was not really a question. God was letting me know what was expected of me during that time of suffering. The pain in my heart was so severe that it was hard for me to breathe. I agreed to obey God if he helped me deal with the pain. Suddenly, it was like God's hand came out of heaven, reached into my chest and gently grasped my heart. Immediately the pain was gone. With God's help, I sowed my son as a seed in God's Kingdom.

For years, I thought God was having me sow seeds of forgiveness so that I could emotionally bear the losses and move on with my life. It was that, and so much more. God had me sow in tears so that I might also accumulate rewards in my Heavenly Account. Jesus said that whatever we give up for the sake of the Kingdom would be rewarded back to us one hundred times more in this life. The Lord is preparing me for such a reward in short order. He has led me back to the place of my greatest pain, so that I might sow more seeds in this place. In tears I have continued to sow. I have asked to be moved, but God wants to bless me immensely in this place. So I continue to press past the pain.

When I get to the point that I feel like giving up, the Lord reminds me of Jesus on the cross. Jesus was a man of sorrows; who was acquainted with grief; and he endured the suffering and shame of the cross, for the joy of reaping harvest of souls in this life who would take up their crosses and follow him. Then I recognize that I am part of his harvest; and again I take up my cross and follow him for the joy of hearing Well done my good and faithful servant.

If you found this helpful, please let us know in the comments below. And share with your friends on your social media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92