You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The 'Experts' are just like You and Me...So why do we believe them?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Excellent article josephmcconnell! Very inspiring as well!
I've read about the Milgram experiment and was amazed at how many participants were willing to continue pressing that button while believing they were harming another person.

I took a course years ago in college that focused on generational differences, and one of the areas that demonstrated the values of society at different time periods was television, movies and even music. It's not that television or movies reflected society as much as people developed ideals, morals and values based on the content of the top tv shows, and other entertainment during those periods. Looking at those influences is a good barometer.

You nailed it with how we view authority figures and "experts." I can say that from experience. I now personally take the stance that we should investigate everything for ourselves and not just blindly follow or accept something simply because an "expert," says that we should.

I've met only a few who actually research a subject that directly affects them. Even with my own writings, I always encourage others to look into matters for themselves rather than follow anyone blindly. I'm no expert, but I couldn't agree more with your take on this.

I hope my response isn't too long. This was a very thought provoking article, and you added a lot of very interesting points. Thanks for sharing this, I enjoyed reading it.

Sort:  

Not too long at all Betty. Thanks for the articulate comments. When I was little, well before I did any research, and though I thought the pastor at my parents church was genuinely a good person, I always thought.....'Why are people listening to him and doing everything he tells them to do? This is really silly'. We all inherently know when something is amiss, it's just being able to accept that and couple it with solid research and education, I think. From your comments, I believe you know this too. Glad my post provoked so much from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47