What's the bar for Geekery?

in #life8 years ago

I’ve been pondering over the last few days, that, and I’ve been working lol, those cold salads aren’t going to dish themselves up themselves, y’know lol. But in amidst the craziness I’ve been thinking about what people actually classify as a geek? I see the bar has really been lowered over the last few years, and, I’ve talked to people that classify themselves as a computer geek yet they wouldn’t know the first thing about building their own machine.

But on the other hand on Friday I was out drinking with my friends and I ran into this chap who was a support tech guy from some whizz company in Dundee, and, he made me feel as if I hadn’t learned anything. He was super techy. He was nice though, and I didn’t think he was turning his nose up at me.

And that led me onto thinking.. what is the geek bar? Or is that something you classify yourself? Like each to their own? Who determines if someone is a geek or not? Me? You?? Someone else? I mean my friends have been stroking my ego for a few years now since technology became the ‘in’ thing. And I must say, it’s made me feel more important than I should! I’m the guy they go to see when technology goes tits up. I have a natural flair with it.

But in the grand scheme of things I’m now only on my first year of computing at the Open University. Perhaps I’m not as super-techno-whizz as I thought! Or perhaps the guy I met was super advanced in his trade. Maybe I’m reading into this too much and I should just be happy being me! lol.

It's the same when I come on here. I always love to check out the trending or new articles of technology and I end up being bamboozled by some. I mean I want to get there in the end. I'm trying to learn. I'm just curious as to where everyone's at and what do other people deem as tech smart. If they deem that a quality at all.

My ego feels a bit bruised. I’ll get over it. What do all of you think? Where is your bar? If there’s a bar at all? I’d really like to hear from you.     

Sort:  

In any endeavour there is always someone better than you, just get to grips with that fact and you will be happier. Thats why athletes like the Olympics, cos they get to be champion for 4 years, even those at the absolute top of their sport have to continuously look over their shoulder and they can only manage it in one or two similar events.
So when you talk tech, its the same its such a huge subject, you can be super geek in PC building with crazy modding skills, but be almost clueless on how to setup an FPGA.
So lets say to be a geek you need to be able to have a conversation at a level of detail that the average man on the street wouldnt understand on any single tech subject, sounds fair?
So you are probably a Steemit geek, I am definately a BOINC, Gridcoin and Solarcoin geek.

Thanks for this - actually, you've made me feel better about myself and the whole situation!! Thank you.

I have never been technical, but I've always been a big reader. It seems like now geeks are defined by what TV shows they watch.

Oh - that's a good point! :)

You definitely need to upgrade your drinking environment! Personally, I recommend the Foo Bar (富酒馆) over at Technology Plaza because they cater to geeks;)

That sounds spot on - I always feel I hang with the wrong crowd. But then again they've been with me since High School!

Whom you hang out with will determine much of your future successs or failure in life. Donald Trump did not get where he is today by hanging out with losers. Success breeds success and money breeds money.

I'll have to look into this, that's an interesting point

My bar is my homebrew setup. All friends are welcome. Tips appreciated, but not required.

Ah - where is your bar? I'd like to come :D

Thank you for sharing this material, I like what you posted. Thank you so much

Thank you for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72