An Introvert in an Extrovert's World

in #life6 years ago

Being an introvert can be tough.

Especially in a world dominated by extroverts. As the saying (I think?) goes: 'Introverts don't make new groups of friends, they find an extrovert who likes them and takes them under their wing and forces them to make new friends.'

I have always been an introvert. The solitude of my own thoughts has always been a safe haven for me from the constant bombardment of attention and energy thrown my way by friendly people who only have my best intentions in mind. I was cursed with the misfortune of being both an introvert and having a resting bitch face- a tough feat as a man but one I succeed in monumentally. People are genuinely intimidated by me- a ridiculous prospect when one considers the fact that I am petrified by the thought of social interaction.

Facing such a dilemma, I've learned to adapt. No-one likes a loner, no matter how cool they are, thus I have almost forced myself to adopt the traits and trends that I am so quick to criticize and hate. I have become a social extrovert, which is a complete turnaround for me and quite frankly is deeply unsettling, but nonetheless has been a powerful tool in my social arsenal. I actually thrive on social interaction now, although I am a markedly better social butterfly after a few (read MULTIPLE) alcoholic beverages, something which is probably a major contributor to my standard Saturday morning hangover.

I do not think I am alone in this struggle. In fact, I believe a lot of us out there are only social because we have forced to be. Solitude is a blessing that numerous people wish for yet few people enjoy, but one struggles to find an anti-social drunkard.

I am trying to constantly improve my social skills (whilst sober) through forcing myself to interact with people in situations I would actively choose not to be involved in. I made the choice to tutor a course at my university- something that I wouldn't have wished on my worst enemy- and I have loved it. It taught an important lesson- putting yourself out of your comfort zone can have incredible benefits. I now am comfortable presenting to panels, and find interviews a breeze. While I still struggle in certain social situations, I love interacting with people, especially those that I have never met before. I have become a different person, and believe that anyone else can too.

Being an introvert in an extrovert's world can be tough, but only if you let it be. If I can learn to better myself, so can anyone else. So get out there, be social, and put yourself out there. You might just surprise yourself.

And, as always:

Sort:  

Congratulations @livin-on-a-steem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64