Apparently yoga really pisses some people off!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

If you read yesterday's email (or blog for those who read it elsewhere) you’ll know that I wrote about how yoga had really helped me through addiction and continues to do so through my recovery. I made a little joke about downward facing dog right? All is well. Except for one thing...

Apparently yoga really pisses some people off. I woke up this morning to a really angry and, quite frankly homophobic, email from one of our long term readers. In the years and years we’ve been doing Live Rehab (plus the years I’ve been in marketing/sales) I’ve never had a response quite like this.


^^^ Not me...

As much as I would love to print the whole thing it’s really quite rude and disrespectful so I won’t. But, it doesn’t end there. Because ultimately, as much as I wanted to just throw this guy/gal out the window I had a feeling they might be in need of help. So I reached out…

And haven’t heard anything yet. So I’m sending this email/post out to anyone who is reading. If you need help please let us know. Sometimes you don’t reach out in the right way and that’s ok with us. Everyone is going through something at some time in their life.

Yoga can truly help with your recovery but so can running, weight lifting, football or pretty much any type of physical activity. Even power walking. Whatever you end up doing, the process of moving your body and getting out of the zone/headspace you are in can do wonders. You’ve got to start somewhere.

Please don’t attack the people who are trying to help you and the community. Most of us are human (except for the robot dog we have) beings trying to help one another and get by at the same time. However, I do have a warning...

We won’t tolerate it again from the same person. Homophobic attacks, slurs or any kind of hateful speech towards the recovery community will be grounds for immediate muting, banning, site blocking, email removal, course banning and whatever other ways I can think of to remove you from the Live Rehab community. I hope we won’t have to do that!

For those of you still with us - THANK YOU! A couple of you have asked what yoga to do etc after yesterdays message and all I do is load up one of my favourite instructors on Youtube - Yoga With Adrienne. She has a ton of great content (some 300+ videos!) with various lengths and topics to find the perfect one for you. Check her out!

Anyway, I hope todays message doesn’t cause as much drama as yesterday!

To your recovery,

Nick

Sort:  

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by liverehab from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

yea... Yoga helps with controlling emotions too. It may help some people if they think about it instead of speak against it... But hey, freedom of speech right?
You have addressed the matter properly. Nice post !


Your post has been resteemed to my 2053 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69