🍵 Why I practice FASTING 16:8 as a TRAVELER and BIOHACKER ✈☢

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello my steem friends and followers!

After a long week traveling in Budapest, I decided to take a few days off back in Spain. Today I'm writing to you from the beautiful city of Bilbao. This city is located in the Northern part of Spain in a region calledBasque Country (if you didn't know it's an autonomous community within Spain) . For more info Google about it, it's quite interesting.

Today i'm here to talk about something different.

As my journey through the world keeps expanding I've had to adapt my eating patterns to something that would allow me to enjoy local foods and not worry about gaining weight or worry about what to eat and what not to eat.

As silly as it might sound there are countries that I do NOT enjoy their breakfasts as they are very highly focused on carbohydrates such as Croissants, pancakes, toast, etc. However, there are countries that focus their breakfasts more on healthy proteins and fats for example eating herring or smoked salmon early in the morning.

With all these variances I personally adopted an eating pattern of 16:8 with my Intermittent Fasting Protocol in the Program I created called "The Traveler Diet". There are multiple techniques in fasting such as 16:8, 20:4, 23:1 and 24:0. The first number representes the hours fasting, the second the window in hours to eat. For example 16:8 means I fast during 16 hours and eat during 8 hours.

This helps me with 2 things I crunch the same amount of calories I normally would in 2 meals only - if i'm focusing on cutting bodyfat then i drop 10-15% my intake daily, second makes my life easier.

What does this do and why it's good?

Proven Benefits of fasting, specifically Intermittent Fasting:

  1. Fasting improves Insulin Sensitivity. - Whenever you are in prolonged windows of fasting insulin levels drop significantly allowing muscle cells and other tissues to be less sensitive to whenever insulin is actually released.

  2. Fasting helps my body rest. - If you've been one of those that believes eating 5 times a day helps you burn more calories let me tell you that it's actually not true. The body will spend the same amount of calories digesting 2,000 calories split in 2 meals than in 5 meals. Reality is you want to allow your body to use it's energy in other metabolic processes throughout the day besides eating. By releasing insulin only twice a day for example with a 2MAD plan your body can use its resources on other metabolic activities.

  3. Fasting improves my hunger. The more i become fat adapted and keto adapted I can withstand easier and easier my fasting windows. In fact while fasting BHB (beta-hydroxy-buterate) , the main ketone released by the liver helps with appetite suppresion and as the fasting goes deeper leptin levels also turn off the hunger response.
    Leptin is also modified in a fat-burning scenario by telling the brain "we have enough fat to survive, don't eat".

  4. Fasting is so easy for me. Not having to worry about when or how to have breakfast, especially when i'm really not hungry is just amazing, allows me to focus my mind on other activities such as working on my business or exploring places.

  5. Autophagy. Fasting allows old cells to be replaced and fosters creating of new cells, for xample immune system cells like white blood cells.

  6. Allows me to eat 2 amazings feasts like these every day!!! These are Spanish Pintxos and tapas. By the way.... BILBAO HAS AMAZING FOOD. (by the way, my default diet is Keto; 95% of the time I don't eat breat - therefore just for you to know i didn't eat the bread only the topings :D )

FullSizeRender 10.jpg

FullSizeRender 7.jpg

FullSizeRender 8.jpg

To learn more about what I do and teach you can register at http://fatburninghack.com.

If you like the content don't forget to upvote or resteem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55